ATHLETE OF YEAR AWARDS Founded by Sport BO

DARYL THOMPSON NOMINATION

Description:

This award is named in honour of the late Daryl Thompson, former chair of Sport BC, whose contributions to sport as an athlete, coach and executive officer were exemplary. This award recognizes an individual who has contributed their time in an extraordinary way to sport over a long period of time and/or has made a major contribution to amateur sport in British Columbia.

Criteria:

- Recognition is for contribution on a provincial, national or international scale.
- The recipient is chosen by Sport BC's Board of Directors.
- Each nomination is valid for three years. This means that a nominee who is not honoured in a particular year will automatically be considered as a nominee in the subsequent two years. Additional materials will be accepted to update the application.
- Nominations are the responsibility of the member organizations of Sport BC.

Submission Requirements:

- · Only typewritten or word-processed nominations will be accepted
- Sport BC reserves the right to seek additional nominations at any time and the right to decline nominations
- Fully completed nomination forms and citations must be received at Sport BC by Friday, November 15, 2013
- Please include a head and shoulders or action photo of the nominee in jpg format with a minimum of 300 pixels per inch

Previous Award Recipients:

2012 - Larry Kliparchuk, Wrestling

2011 - Kathy Newman, Wheelchair Sports

2010 - Ray Carter, Baseball

2009 - KC Emerson

2008 - Laurel Crosby

2007 - Sohen Gill

2006 - Dr. Chandra Madhosingh

2005 - Dave Fryatt

2004 - Bob Mullock

2003 - David "Goose" Frid

2002 - Charmaine Crooks & Chris Johnson

2001 - Janice Hunter

2000 - Adrienne Arnold & Les MacDonald

1999 - Pam Sywulych & Bob Hindmarch

1998 - Gerry York & John Furlong

1997 - Ron Austen & Marilyn Pomfret

1996 - D.L. (Buzz) Moore

1995 - Doug Clement

1994 - Peter Webster

1993 - Fred Jopson

1992 - Jim Kearney

1991 - Deryl Hughes

1990 - Andy Belisky

1989 - Irene MacDonald

1988 - Robert Osborne

1987 - May Brown

1986 - Rick Hansen

1985 - Donalda Smith

1984 - Gordie Pynn

1983 - Archie McKinnon

1982 - Merv Ferguson

1981 - Stuart Maddin

1980 - Terry Fox

1979 - Bus Philips

1978 - Not Awarded

1977 - Bill Cunningham

1976 - Not Awarded

1975 - Harold Wright

1974 - Ted Reynold



Nominator Information

DARYL THOMPSON NOMINATION

ıme:		
Title:	Organization:	
Address:		
City:	Postal Code:	
Phone:	Email:	
Seconder Information		
Name:		
Title:	Organization:	
Address:		
City:	Postal Code:	
Phone:	Email:	
Nominee Information		
Name:		
Title:	Organization:	
Address:		
City:	Postal Code:	
Phone:	Email:	
Sport(s) represented:	Club or Team represented:	
Gender: M F	Age:	



DARYL THOMPSON NOMINATION

Recipient	
Describe in 500 words or less why this nominee should receive the Sport BC Daryl Thompson Award. Please include the number of years the nominee has contributed to sport in British Columbia.	

Supporting Information:

Please provide other comments, facts, and figures for the selection committee to consider. Only one page single-spaced of information will be accepted. Newspaper clippings are acceptable as part of the additional page of information.

The information collected on this nomination form will be kept confidential, and will be used solely for the purpose of the Athlete of the Year Awards.

Nominations must be submitted on-line or by email by Friday, November 15, 2013 to:

Email: info@sportbc.com Phone: 604 333.3400