Back To News

Cycling Canada Announces 2022 Canadian Championships Calendar

Cycling Canada is pleased to confirm the 2022 Canadian Championships calendars for the Road, Track, Mountain Bike, Para-Cycling, BMX and Cyclo-cross disciplines. With athletes competing for the honour of wearing the maple leaf for the duration of the next season, the Canadian Championships represents one of the most important domestic competitions each year.

“We are thrilled to confirm the dates and locations for each of our 2022 Canadian Championship events,” said Josh Peacock, Director of Marketing & Community Engagement at Cycling Canada. “The 2022 Canadian Championships calendar represents a strong mix of new and returning venues in what is sure to be one of the most anticipated racing seasons as Canadians look forward to a full return to high-level competition on Canadian soil.”

The 2022 Canadian Championships calendar will kick off with the Canadian Track Championships for Under-17 and Junior athletes, to be hosted by Cycling Canada at the Mattamy National Cycling Centre in Milton, Ontario from April 8-10.

For the first time since 2010, the Canadian Road Championships for Elite, Junior and Para athletes will return west to Edmonton, Alberta. The host venues will take advantage of both urban and rural circuits similar to those seen in past editions of the Canadian Championships and the Tour of Alberta. The following weekend, the Canadian Road Championships for Masters athletes will head to Victoriaville, Québec from June 30 to July 3. The event will be organized by the Classique des Appalaches under its Vélo.Victo.Fest. programming, which also includes Canada’s sole UCI Gran Fondo World Series qualifier event in 2022.

The Canadian Mountain Bike Championships for both the Downhill and Cross-Country disciplines will be organized on the weekend of July 23-24, 2022. The Cross-Country Championships will return to Hardwood Ski & Bike after a two-year hiatus while the Canadian Downhill Championships will return to Kicking Horse Mountain Resort – host venue of Cycling Canada’s inaugural 2021 Championship event.

The Canadian BMX Championships will be scheduled later in the summer, with races being held from August 27-28 in Calgary, Alberta. The following week, the Canadian Track Championships for Elite, Masters & Para athletes will be hosted by Cycling Canada and return to Milton, Ontario from September 1-3, 2022.

The final Championship event of the year, the Canadian Cyclo-cross Championships, will be hosted in Langford, British Columbia. Dates will be announced in fall 2021, in line with respective UCI bidding deadlines and approvals.

2022 Canadian Championship Events:

Canadian Track Championships (U17/Junior)
Organizer: Cycling Canada
Milton, ON
April 8-10, 2022

Canadian Road Championships (Elite/Para/Junior)
Organizer: WTS Edmonton
Edmonton, AB
June 21-26, 2022

Canadian Road Championships (Masters)
Organizer : Classique des Appalaches
Victoriaville, QC
June 30 – July 3, 2022

Canadian XCO MTB Championships
Organizer: Pulse Racing
Oro Station, ON
July 23-24, 2022

Canadian Downhill MTB Championships
Organizer: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
Golden, BC
July 23-24, 2022

Canadian BMX Championships
Organizer: Calgary BMX
Calgary, AB
August 27-28, 2022

Canadian Track Championships (Elite/Masters/Para)
Organizer: Cycling Canada
Milton, ON
September 1-3, 2022

Canadian Cyclo-cross Championships
Organizer: Victoria International Cycling Festival Society
Langford, BC
Date: TBC (to be announced in Fall 2021)

Not listed here and currently open for bid are the 2022 Canadian Championships for the Mountain Bike Marathon, Enduro, and BMX Freestyle disciplines. For details on bidding process and competition requirements, contact Jolène Dupuis.

Source: Cycling Canada

About Cycling Canada
Cycling Canada is the national sport governing body for cycling in Canada. With the vision of becoming a leading cycling nation, Cycling Canada administers programs to promote and grow cycling across the country, hosts national and international events and manages the National cycling teams in all levels of international competition.