Back To News

A jam-packed weekend of DH racing at SilverStar with Canada Cup, BC Cup, and BC Provincial Championships

Jr Men’s Podium at the 2023 BC Downhill Provincial Championships at SilverStar Mountain Resort.


The 2023 BC Downhill Provincial Championships was hosted by SilverStar Mountain Resort on the weekend of July 7-10th and was a triple-bill of racing that featured the first Canada Cup DH race of the year, BC Cup #2, and the BC Provincial Championships jam-packed into one event. With the tragic accident that happened at the BC Cup season opener at Big White the weekend prior, all the riders, officials, and organizers started the event and paid their respects with a moment of silence at the all-riders meeting on the evening of Friday, July 7th.

With everyone checked in, the course marked, walked, and inspected, the riders took to the course for practice runs on Saturday and seeding runs for the Pro/Elites and Jr. Experts, all in preparation for Sunday’s race day down Dag’s Downhill track that comprised of jumps, berms, technical root and rock sections.

Spectators lined the course to watch and cheer on the riders as they descended one by one trying to beat the clock for the fastest time of the day. A slight adjustment to the day’s schedule due to lightning in the region saw the Elites and Juniors go first and it was Jackson Frew from Australia who would claim the fastest time in Elite/Pro Men amongst, followed by Haydyn Wynter from Squamish who was the fastest BC rider and thus crowned the BC Provincial DH Champion for the category. Gabriel Neron (Corsa Cycles) finished in 3rd, Vald Sherryuble in 4th, and Patrick Laffey in 5th, and all within a second of each other. Former Junior Provincial Champion (2018), Ainhoa Ijurko, won the provincial title for the first time as an Elite in the Pro/Elite Women’s category while Eval Leikermoser (Gravity MTB Racing) was just 0.6 seconds behind in 2nd place, followed by Emilie-Soleil Patterson in 3rd, and Paula Sanguinetti in 4th.


Brock Hawes (Gravity MTB Racing) from Sun Peaks won the Junior Men’s provincial title over Jon Mozell (Forbidden Synthesis) in 2nd, Tegan Cruz 3rd, Wyatt Harrington 4th, and Zac Stratton (Outlaw United) rounding out the top 5.  Sophi Lawrence (Instinct Development) of Whistler, BC, won the Junior Women’s Provincial Championship, followed by 2022’s Provincial Champ in Junior, Natasha Miller, and Rebecca Beaton (Instinct Development) in 3rd, Sophia Ervington in 4th, and Kate McKenzie in 5th.

Tom Power (Rippers Lounge Racing) led all Masters racers with the fastest time to take BC Championship title in the Master Men (35-44) group, followed by Tim Coleman in 2nd, Rafael Webber (Dunbar Cycles) in 3rd, Corey Kenahan 4th, and Cian Clark in 5th.

The rest of the BC Provincial Championship categories and winners

U15 Women

  1. Piper Graaten (Gravity MTB Racing)
  2. Caileigh Koppang
  3. Ruby Wells
  4. Arleigh Kemp
  5. Zoe Witwicki

U15 Men

  1. Sebastien Harrison
  2. Cody Kelly (Instinct Development)
  3. Eli Bundy
  4. Colter Knecht
  5. Emmett Guy (Instinct Development)

U17 Women

  1. Tayte Proulx-Royds (Liv Canada Off-road Team)
  2. Cameron Bragg (Instinct Development)
  3. Mhairi Smart (Instinct Development)
  4. Abbie Glavas
  5. Emily Wilson (Instinct Development)

U17 Expert Men

  1. Anthony Shelly (Instinct Development)
  2. Luke Mallen
  3. Ryder Wilson
  4. Mateo Quist
  5. Austin Makson

Master Men (45-54)

  1. Christopher Canfield – USA/non-BC rider
  2. Joe Bauckham (Rippers Lounge Racing) – BC Provincial Champion
  3. Cameron Adams

Master Men (55+)

  1. Shawn Melnechuk
  2. John Nihsner
  3. Jerrod Hoskins
  4. Ian Rudd

After what has been an emotional week for the mountain bike community, a special thanks goes out to the unwavering support and compassion of the event organizers, officials, volunteers, and participants for making this year’s BC Provincial Championships a resounding success. Congratulations to our 2023 BC Downhill Provincial Champions and all who podiumed and participated in this year’s race.

View the full list of winners and results at