Back To News

2016 Canadian BMX Championships

This past weekend the Provincial BMX team headed to Calgary, AB to compete against Canada’s best at the 2016 Canadian BMX National Championships.   The weather was a bit wet for the first day of practice on Thursday, with some rain for most of the morning and afternoon. However, the track had some great drainage and the extra moisture on the track allowed for some good dirt for racing. On Friday, riders hit the track competing in the time trial, with Saturday being the main event.

On Friday BC took three of four national titles and six of twelve medals in the BMX Time Trial Canadian Championships. Just off of finishing fifth in the 2016 Summer Olympic Games in Rio, Tory Nyhaug took the Canadian National Championship title in the Elite men’s category. James Palmer took the silver. In the Elite women, Drew Mechielsen took the National Champs title and Erin Kinnie the bronze. In the Junior men, Alex Tougas took gold and the coveted maple leaf jersey, and Ben Leslie took the bronze.

BMX Coach Adam Muys had this to say about the team’s performance:

The team had a solid performance this weekend.  BC was the strongest team out there this year.  It’s great to see all the hard work that athletes have been putting into the weekly training camps and the new strength and conditioning sessions paying off for them all.  We’re all very proud of their accomplishments this weekend.

Saturday was the main event for the Canadian BMX Championships and again, BC was the top team taking, three of four national championship titles and 6 of 12 medals. It was a great day for racing, with overcast skies, light winds and average temperatures. Fourteen Male winner, Ryan Tougas, had this to say about the racing:

The highlight for Nationals was staying consistent through the day, winning all my motos, including finals to take the 14 National Champ win. In Sunday’s Canada Cup Finals, I was happy that I was able to go through the pro set in my first ever Junior Devo Race, taking second made it even better.   Looking forward to the remainer of the year and into next year. I’m looking forward to the transition into Supercross and getting more comfortable with the SX hill in Abbotsford.

Tory Nyhaug took the Canadian BMX Championship title in the Elite men and James Palmer the silver. In the Elite women Drew Mechielsen took the National Champs title and Erin Kinnie the silver. In the Junior men, Alex Tougas took the gold and coveted maple leaf jersey and Ben Leslie took the bronze.    In the 13 males, Aiden Grech took the gold, Ryan Tougas took the gold in the 14 male, Alex Grecht took the bronze in 15 male, Aidan Webber took gold in 16 male, Adicus Bird took the gold in 14 female, and Alison Grecht took the silver in 16 female.


For more info on the race, including full results, check out Cycling Canada’s website.