Back To News

Nominations Now Open for Sport BC 41st Athlete of the Year Awards

Canada’s longest-running sport recognition event is back, and we are excited to honour BC’s best athletes, coaches, officials and teams in 18 different categories. Celebrate with us and see who will follow in the footsteps of Steve Nash, Rick Hansen, and Maëlle Ricker as Athlete of the Year Award winners. Most recently, Tory Nyhaug was honoured with the Harry Jerome Comeback Award in 2015, while Laura Brown, Steph Roorda and Jasmin Glaesser were honoured with the 2014 Team of the Year award for their roles in Canada’s Women’s Team Pursuit.

As of October 13, 2016, Sport BC released the official nomination forms for the Annual Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards and are now accepting nominations.  Submission of nominations will remain open until November 18, 2016.

Community members, clubs, and teams are encouraged to put forward and nominate a BC athlete, coach, official or team to receive one of eighteen prestigious titles at this event in March 2017.

Please click here to download the official Sport BC Athlete of the Year nomination forms.

For more information on this event, please visit: click here.

If you have any questions or concerns, please direct them to Christine Wong of Sport BC (