Back To News

A New Canadian Record and Eleven Medals for BC Riders at the Canadian Elite/Masters Track Championships

BC elite and masters athletes competed at the Canadian Elite/Masters Track Championships last weekend, January 6-8, at the Mattamy National Cycling Centre in Milton, Ontario, where some of the nation’s biggest names in track cycling were in attendance including current Men’s World Champion (Scratch Race), Dylan Bibic, Olympic gold medalist (Sprint) Kelsey Mitchell, and Olympic bronze medalist (Keirin) Lauriane Genest.

BC’s Diane Snobelen (Burnaby Velodrome Club) sprinting against Ontario and Quebec riders. Photo credit:


BC’s riders certainly held their own against some of the country’s fastest as Vancouver’s Diane Snobelen (Burnaby Velodrome Club) snagged a bronze medal in the Elite Women’s Keirin and shared the podium with Sarah Orban, who won silver and Lauriane Genest, who won gold. Fiona Majendie (Red Truck Racing p/b Mosaic Homes) of Vancouver took home a silver medal in the Elite Women’s Pursuit while Victoria’s Erin Attwell found herself on the podium three times, claiming silver in each of the Elite Women’s Scratch, Omnium, and Madison events.

BC’s Elite Women at the Canadian Track Championships


The Burnaby Velodrome Club’s Master Men’s duo of Uli Mayer of Vancouver and Hans Loeffelholz of North Vancouver were dominant in their categories and claimed several national titles. Mayer claimed a silver medal in the Master C Men’s 500m Time Trial, a gold medal in the Points race, another gold in the Scratch, and one last gold medal in the Pursuit event where he set a new Canadian Master C’s Men’s record with a time of 2:24.749. It was also a golden weekend for Loeffelholz who claimed national title wins in the Master B men’s 750m Time Trial, Sprint, and Keirin.

Congratulations to everyone who represented BC at the championships and to all the racers from across the country who came out to compete.

Download Championship Results

Go to live timing and event results

L to R - Sarah Orban , Lauriane Genest, Diane Snobelen
L to R - Erin Attwell, Ariane Bonhomme, Kiara Lylyk
Erin Attwell
Fiona Majendie (Red Truck Racing p/b Mosaic Homes)
Men's Scratch Race