Back To News

The Canadian Road Championships (Elite/Jr/Para) Back In Edmonton

Ottawa, ON (June 20, 2023) – The Canadian Road Championships for Junior, Elite and Para athletes are returning to Edmonton, AB, from June 23-26, where over 300 athletes from all over the country will be looking to secure Canadian titles in the individual time trial, road race and criterium over four days of racing.

“We are very much looking forward to the second year of seeing the Canadian Road Championships in Edmonton,” said Jolène Dupuis, Cycling Canada’s Events & Officials Manager. “The organizers have worked hard to provide exciting and challenging courses for the athletes to showcase their best talents, while also providing the community with a unique opportunity to open their race course once again in hosting their Urban Gran Fondo. We are thrilled to see the continued success of road cycling here in Alberta and hope that events like these continue to build local capacity and resources that can bring more events to the region.”

The Championships will begin on Friday, June 23, with the individual time trial for all categories over distances ranging from 12.9 to 38.6km. The road races will take place on Saturday and Sunday, June 24-25, with riders completing a lapped course of a 10.7km loop. On Monday, June 26, Elite and Junior riders will ride the 1.4km circuit for their chance to win the criterium titles.

Reigning Elite Champions Back to Defend Their Titles
2022 Elite Champions Maggie Coles-Lyster (women’s road race, criterium), Pier-André Côté (men’s road race), Derek Gee (men’s time trial), Paula Findlay (women’s time trial) and Michael Foley (men’s criterium) will be back behind the tape in hopes to keep their titles, racing against 2022 U23 Champion Simone Boilard (road race), who has entered into the elite ranks.

New Names in the Junior Category
With several 2022 Junior Canadian Champions such as Mara Roldan (women’s criterium) and Campbell Parrish (men’s time trial) now racing as U23, the junior titles will be up for grabs in the time trial and in the criterium, while 2022 Road Race Champion Anabelle Thomas will defend her title. Junior Cyclo-cross World Champion Isabella Holmgren, Vice-World Champion Ava Holmgren and 2022 Canadian Cyclo-cross Champion Ian Ackert will be lining up alongside many 2023 Junior Canadian Track Champions.

Para Athletes Coming Back from International Success
Coming off three successful World Cups that saw Nathan Clement, Shelley Gautier, Charles Moreau, Lowell Taylor and pilot Ed Veal step on the podium, para athletes will be looking to add 2023 Canadian Champion to their long list of accomplishments.

Cycling BC Team
The Cycling BC squad will be represented at the national championships by a quartet of Junior athletes including Kimberly Chen (The Cycling Co. Dirt Squad) from Victoria, Elizabeth Khrisanova of Coquitlam, Sidney Swierenga (Team DEVO) and Monty Rigby (Team DEVO) from Vancouver.

The full technical guide and important event information can be found here, while, while official competition documents such as communiqués, rider list, start list and live results can be found on the Events page of the Cycling Canada website.

Source: Cycling Canada 
About Cycling Canada

Cycling Canada is the nation’s oldest National Sport Organization and has one simple purpose – to inspire Canadians to cycle. Our mandate is to holistically develop the sport in partnership with our 11 Provincial/Territorial Sport Organizations, putting more Canadians on bikes from coast-to-coast and on podiums around the world.