Back To News

Congratulations to all the 2023 Canadian National Cyclocross Champions

2023 Canadian National Cyclocross Champions. Photo by Rob Jones/CanadianCyclist.


The 2023 Canadian National Cyclocross Championships returned to Layritz Park in Saanich, BC on Saturday, November 25th where athletes from across the country in U17, Junior, U23, Elite, and Masters categories gathered to vie for the coveted maple leaf national champion’s jersey.

The weather was chilly with sunny skies and fans were treated to some exceptional races all around including championship-winning performances from BC riders who claimed the National Champion’s jersey—Cycling BC High Performance targeted athletes Evan Russell (Global 6 Cycling) won the Elite Men’s category and Ethan Wood (Charge BC XC) claimed the title in the U17 Men group.  BC’s Master riders Raphael Lalumiere (35-44 Men), Cristin Schlossberger (45-54 Women), Bob Welbourn (45-54 Men), and Colin Funk (65+ Men) all won the championship title in their respective categories as well.

Here are the top 3 results for each championship category:

U17 Women
1 Lydia Stack-Michasiw (SK) Team SK
2 Tayte Proulx-Royds (BC) Liv Canada Off Road team
3 Sabina Rossiello (BC) Team DEVO

U17 Men
1 Ethan Wood (BC) Charge BC XC
2 Larix Hallett (AB) Team Alberta – RMCC
3 Farland Lamont (ON) AWI Racing p/b The Crank & Sprocket

Junior Men
1 Jayden McMullen (ON) KW Cycling Academy
2 Alix Brunelle (QC)
3 Graham Francis (AB) Juventus CC

Junior Women
1 Rafaelle Carrier (QC) Equipe du Quebec
2 Nico Knoll (AB) Cyclemeisters / Bow Cycle
3 Lily-Rose Marois (QC) Equipe Quebec

U23 Women
1 Isabella Holmgren (ON) Stimulus Orbea
2 Jenaya Francis (AB) Grouwels-Watersley R+D Team
3 Ella Myers (AB) The Bike Shop

U23 Men
1 Ian Ackert (ON) Stimulus Orbea
2 Cody Scott (BC) Comp Edge Racing
3 Owen Clark (ON) Hockley Valley Armada

Elite Women
1 Ava Holmgren (ON) Stimulus Orbea
2 Christiane Bilodeau (AB) Juventus CC
3 Katelyn Walcroft (BC) Red Truck Racing p/b Mosaic Homes

Elite Men
1 Evan Russell (BC) Global 6 Cycling
2 Luke Valenti (ON) Team Ecoflo Chronos
3 Tyler Clark (ON) Hockley Valley Armada

Master 35-44 Women
1 Pepper Harlton (AB) Devon Bicycle Association
2 Denise Mahon (BC) Tripleshot CC
3 Lindsay Burgess (BC)

Master 45-54 Women
1 Cristin Schlossberger (BC) Broad St. Breakaway
2 Shantel Koenig (BC) PRW
3 Kelly Welbourn (BC) Steed Cycles

Master 55-64 Women
1 Gail O’Reilly (BC)
2 Rachel Dumont (BC)
3 Shannon Baerg (BC) Element Race Team

Master 65+ Women
1 Patricia Konantz (QC) Ride With Rendall P/B Biemme
2 Barb Morris (BC) Escape Velocity / Devo

Master 35-44 Men
1 Raphael Lalumiere (BC) Broad St. Breakaway
2 Craig Richey (BC) Easton Overland
3 Andrew Davidson (AB) Manteo Cycling

Master 45-54 Men
1 Bob Welbourn (BC)
2 Jean Francois Blais (QC) Siboire GFT
3 Brian Green* (GBr)
4 Christopher Algar (NS) Halifax Oceanics

Master 55-64 Men
1 Lorenzo Caterini (BC)
2 Normon Thibault (BC) Rock City Cycles-Frontrunners
3 Sean Cruickshank (BC) Pro City Racing

Master 65+ Men
1 Colin Funk (BC) Atomic Racing
2 Derek Steel (BC) Riverway Dental Racing
3 Peter Wellsman (BC) Pro City Racing

Full results available at