Back To News

Cliff Miller and Tory Nyhaug Recognized at Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards

Congratulations to Cliff Miller and Tory Nyhaug, who have both been recognized for their achievements and dedication to their sport at the 2016 Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards.

Cliff Miller was presented with the 2016 Presidents’ Award, for his work over the last 20 years to develop and promote mountain biking in BC. This award is presented to those who represent the spirit of volunteerism, and whose dedication, energy and commitment contribute to the development of their sport.

Tory Nyhaug is the recipient of the distinguished Harry Jerome Comeback Award. This award recognizes an athlete who competed in a sport, individual or team, in 2015 after having suffered an unusual setback (i.e. illness, injury, etc.) Tory has returned to the top of his sport internationally after recovering from injury last year at the World Championships in Zolder, Belgium and is well on his way to representing Canada at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.


Cliff Miller, winner of Sport BC 2016 Presidents' Award. Photo by Dave Buzzard.
Photo © Rob Jones/Canadian Cyclist.