Back To News

BC’s van den Ham to Represent Canada at the 2022 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships

Cyclocross rider running up a muddy climb
Michael van den Ham at the 2018 Cyclocross World Championships, photo credit: Rob Jones/CanadianCyclist


Ottawa, ON (January 13, 2022) – Cycling Canada has selected a team of 26 Junior, U23 and Elite athletes to compete at the 2022 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships in Fayetteville, USA on January 29-30. Over the holiday period, riders prepared for the championships by competing at various races in Europe, including two world cups in Belgium and the Netherlands, where several athletes established personal best performances.

The team will be led by two-time Pan American champion Maghalie Rochette, who has had a breakthrough season and has earned her two first European World Cup podiums. She will be joined by Pan American Games silver medallist Ruby West, national cyclo-cross champions Michael van den Ham and Sydney McGill, as well as two-time 2021 Canadian XCO Championships bronze medallist Tyler Orschel.

“I’m really happy with my season so far,” said Rochette. “I had some of the best results of my career and was more consistent than ever. My goal for Worlds is to put all these learnings into practice and to deliver the best possible performance. I think it’s realistic to aim for a podium, but I really want to start this race with an open mind and I don’t want to set any limits for myself. I’ve prepared as much as possible, so my goal is to cross the finish line feeling completely drained, knowing that I’ve done my best.”

On the development side, Pan American Championships medallists Ava Holmgren, Isabella Holmgren, Ian Ackert and Tyler Clark will be on the athlete watch list in the Junior and U23 races. Pan American champion Ava Holmgren will be a top contender for the women’s Junior title after winning multiple races this year and placing 7th at the Namur World Cup. Canadian XCO Championships medallists Owen Clark and Ella Myers will also be looking to compete for a spot on the podium.

“The international race experience we were able to provide for our development athletes this season will be largely beneficial at Worlds,” said Cycling Canada’s Cyclo-cross Lead, Rob Holmgren. “The new skills and experience they were able to acquire will carry them well into this competition and further into their careers. We have a great group of development athletes and veterans, and we look forward to seeing them perform against the best in the world.”
The national cyclocross team is extremely grateful to our partners Paris to Ancaster, the CX Fever Fund and to our generous donors and volunteers. To become a member of Club 1882 and help support Cycling Canada programs and athletes, click here.

Team Canada

Junior Women
Jenaya Francis – Edmonton, AB
Ava Holmgren – Orillia, ON
Isabella Holmgren – Orillia, ON
Kiara Lylyk – Guelph, ON
Ella Myers – Calgary, AB

Junior Men
Ian Ackert – Severn, ON
Theo DeGroote – Orangeville, ON
Sasha Renaud-Tremblay – Blainville, QC
Luke Valenti – Orangeville, ON
Alexander Woodford – Ottawa, ON

U23 Women
Christiane Bilodeau – St.Albert, AB
Kelly Lawson – Barrie, ON
Katelyn Walcroft – Collingwood, ON

U23 Men
Hugo Brisebois – Chelsea, QC
Owen Clark – Mono, ON
Tyler Clark – Mono, ON
Matt Leliveld – Mulmur, ON
Noah Ramsey – Toronto, ON

Elite Women
Siobhan Kelly – London, ON
Sidney McGill – Edmonton, AB
Maghalie Rochette – Ste-Adèle, QC
Ruby West – Dundas, ON

Elite Men
Malcolm Barton – Uxbridge, ON
Tyler Orschel – Uxbridge, ON
Brody Sanderson – Severn, ON
Michael van den Ham – Abbotsford, BC

Source: Cycling Canada
About Cycling Canada
Cycling Canada is the governing body for competitive cycling in Canada. With the vision of becoming a leading competitive cycling nation, Cycling Canada manages the High Performance team, hosts national and international events and administers programs to promote and grow cycling across the country.