Back To News

Chernove, Coles-Lyster, and Iles Announced as Finalists for 51st Athlete of the Year Awards

Sport BC, on behalf of the BC Sport community, has proudly announced the outstanding amateur athletes, coaches, and officials, named as finalists for 14 of the 18 award categories to be presented at the upcoming Athlete of the Year Awards. BC cyclists Tristen Chernove, Maggie Coles-Lyster, and Finn Iles have all been named as finalists in their respective categories.

The 51st Annual Awards Ceremony and Gala dinner is set for Wednesday, March 8, 2017 at the Fairmont Waterfront Hotel. The ceremonies will recognize BC’s best in amateur sport including athletes, coaches, and officials for outstanding performances in their sport over the 2016 season. Each finalist was nominated by their Provincial or Multi-Sport Organization, High School, College or University. The Selection Committee, chaired by Bernie Pascall, included 15 highly regarded sportswriters, broadcasters, and amateur sport leaders in British Columbia.

“A large number of highly qualified nominations for each of the categories were received this year,” notes Sport BC President & CEO, Rob Newman. “Each year the Athlete of the Year Awards recognizes the talented and deserving athletes, coaches and officials. This year’s nominees in all the award categories are certainly a testament to the strength and depth of sport development in our province over the last 51 years. Each year, we are grateful for the support and contribution of our sport and business partners and volunteers.”

Finalists for the 2017 Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards represent 18 sports from 21 various cities and are noted below. An additional four awards will be presented at the ceremony including the Best of BC, KidSport BC Community Champion, Harry Jerome Comeback and the Daryl Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award.

Athlete with a Disability

  • Tristen Chernove (Cranbrook) – Para-Cycling
  • Liam Stanley (Victoria) – Para-Athletics
  • Michelle Stilwell (Parksville) – Para-Athletics

Female Junior Athlete of the Year

  • Maggie Coles-Lyster (Maple Ridge) – Cycling
  • Nina Schultz (New Westminster) – Athletics
  • Shallon Olsen (Surrey) – Gymnastics

Male Junior Athlete of the Year

  • Finn Iles (Whistler) – Cycling
  • Benjamin Sigouin (Vancouver) – Tennis
  • AJ Ewart (Coquitlam) – Golf

For the full list of finalists in each category, click here.

About the Athlete of the Year Awards

The Athlete of the Year Awards, founded by Sport BC, is the longest standing amateur sport recognition event in the country. Awards in 18 different categories are given each year to athletes, coaches, and officials on their performance and contribution to sport in the province of British Columbia. The awards play a valuable role in nurturing athletic success while recognizing extraordinary accomplishments in BC.

23rd Presidents Awards

The 23rd Annual Presidents Awards is proudly sponsored by Sports with Balls. This group is comprised of Basketball BC, Volleyball BC, BC Lacrosse Association, BC Soccer Association, Softball BC, Baseball BC, Tennis BC and the BC Ringette Association. These awards are presented annually to volunteers from Sport BC member organizations who represent the spirit of volunteerism, and whose dedication, energy, and commitment contribute to the development of their sport or organization.

About Sport BC 

In 1966, a small group of dedicated volunteers created an organization to provide a unified voice for amateur sport in British Columbia. While much has changed in 51 years, our core purpose remains the same.

Who we are: Sport BC is the non-profit sport federation, representing over 60 Provincial Sport Organizations in British Columbia. As a member-based organization, Sport BC offers services and programs to build the capacity of our members and advocate on their behalf to improve the landscape for organized sport in BC.

Mission: Sport BC, as a member-based organization, supports the growth of amateur sport in BC and provides leadership through delivery of its programs and services for members.

Vision: Sport in British Columbia is thriving through the leadership of Sport BC and our members.

Values: Integrity, Transparency, Collaboration, Creativity and Innovation

Selection Committee Members

Bernie Pascall – Chair, Ajay Patel (Langara College), Allison Mailer (BC Sports Hall of Fame), Bob Mackin, Brian Dance (CBC), Gary Kingston, Judy Joseph-Black (Sports Reports Consulting Services), Karin Larsen (CBC), Len Corben (North Shore Outlook), Marilyn Payne (Sport Consultant), Tom Berridge, Wendy Long (Freelance Writer), Michelle Collens (City of Vancouver), Lynda Cannell (Fortius Sport & Health), Lia Threlfall (BC Games Society), Carey Dillen (Sport BC Chair).


Finn Iles, finalists for Junior Male Athlete of the Year
Tristen Chernove, finalist for Athlete of the Year with a Disability
Maggie Coles-Lyster, finalist for Junior Female Athlete of the Year