Back To News

BC Premier Road Series Wrap-Up

The BC Premier Road Series, p/b Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory could not have asked for a better season finale than to be part of two BC Superweek races: Mahoney and Son’s UBC Grand Prix and The Tour de White Rock Choices Market Criterium.

With most of the category standings still very close, it took some strong individual riding and unified teamwork to establish our series winners. At the UBC Grand Prix p/b Mahoney and Son’s, our Cat 3 leader Brett Wakefield had already solidified his top spot in series, but the Master 40+ category was another story.

Michael Parrish, Glotman Simpson Cycling was wearing the Master 40+ leader jersey, although he was tied for points with Speed Theory’s Mike Elliston. These two cyclists battled hard, with Elliston beating Parrish and taking a 20 point lead heading into Saturday’s final in White Rock.

And in the final, it was Mike Elliston who held off the hard working team from Glotman Simpson Cycling to take the Master 40+ BC Premier Road Series title while Cordell Dickie, Cycling BC, took the Junior Boys Series at White Rock.

The Women’s Pro 1 / 2 / 3 category had Sara Bergen, ATAC Sportswear, bringing her series lead into the UBC race where the strong riders of Trek Red Truck Racing p/b Mosaic Homes Leah Guloein and Kinley Gibson, both within striking distance of the lead, were waiting.

Bergen and her newly formed ATAC Sportswear team road impressively over the last 2 races to try to fend off the hard charging Trek girl’s, but in the end, it was the solo attack from Kinley Gibson at the White Rock Criterium which not only won her the race, but the overall BC Premier Series title. Maggie Coles-Lyster, Local Ride Racing, a 15-year-old racer who competed in her second BC Superweek alongside the Pro women, took the Junior Girl title.  Louis Scarlett, Musette Cafe was the Cat 3 Women’s winners.

The Pro Cat 1/2 Men’s category was dominated all season by the Victoria based team of Accent Inns/Russ Hayes p/b ScotiaBank. Heading into UBC, it was the second year racer, Dylan Davies, who had the lead, and was determined not to lose it. With Davies also being the BC Criterium Champion, having two criteriums rounding out the series played to his advantage. And not to disappoint, it was Davies who survived some of the hardest racing BC has ever seen to take the series win.

Cycling BC would like to thank Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory and Jakroo Sportswear for supporting the series. We would also like to acknowledge the event organizers who took part in this series. These are: Devo Spring Classic Stage Race, Race the Ridge, Cameron Law Cycling Series, UBC Grand Prix p/b Mahoney and Son’s and the Tour de White Rock Choices Market Criterium. And most importantly, thanks to all the racers and teams who supported these events. We look forward to an even bigger and better series in 2015!

Series Winners

Cat 1 / 2 Women – Kinley Gibson / Trek Red Truck Racing p/b Mosaic Homes

Cat 1 / 2 Men – Dylan Davies / Accent Inns/Russ Hayes p/b ScotiaBank

Cat 3 Women – Louis Scarlett / Musette Café

Cat 3 Men – Brett Wakefield / Local Ride Racing

Master Men 40+ – Mike Elliston / Speed Theory

Junior Girl – Maggie Coles-Lyster / Local Ride Racing

Junior Boy – Cordell Dickie / Cycling BC

BC Premier Road Series Results

Photos Courtesy of Scott Robarts Photography