Back To News

Lamoureux and Cheyne join fellow BC rider, Svein Tuft, on Team Canada at Tour de Beauce

Cycling Canada has selected a team of both experienced professionals and future stars to represent Canada at the Tour de Beauce on June 13-17, headed by WorldTour Mitchelton-Scott rider Svein Tuft. The Tour de Beauce, now in its 33rd year, is Canada’s oldest and most prestigious UCI sanctioned men’s stage race.

Tuft, who has just finished the Giro d’Italia, is one of Canada’s most decorated professionals, and the last Canadian rider to win the Tour de Beauce, in 2008. He has announced that this will be his final year of racing, and it is fitting that it includes the Tour de Beauce.

He will be joined by Ben Perry, who rides for the Israel Cycling Academy pro continental team, and recently finished sixth in the Tour of Korea. Other professionals on the team include Jordan Cheyne, who was third overall at Beauce last year, and James Piccoli, who was tenth at the Tour of Utah last year. Both Cheyne and Piccoli ride for the UCI Continental level Team Elevate-KHS.

Rounding out the team are three members of Canada’s track program, who won a bronze medal at the Commonwealth Games in April. Jay Lamoureux, Michael Foley and Derek Gee, who usually ride for Team RaceClean, will have the opportunity to learn from Tuft and the rest of the pros as they compete in the six stage, 634 kilometre race through the rolling countryside south of Quebec City.

“I like – whenever possible – to create blended projects where we include our emerging Under-23/25 athletes with our more experienced pros,” explains Kevin Field, Road Program Manager at Cycling Canada. “I’m excited we have the chance to work with Ben and Svein on this project. Ben is still an emerging young fella himself, now in his second season Pro Conti; and brings lots of European pro bike experience to bring to our game. And, of course Svein, our most seasoned WorldTour rider.”

“Jay, Michael and Derek join us from our men’s Track Endurance program and it’s in great part thanks to our Men’s Track Endurance coach Jono Hailstone that this project is happening. We have a strong team and I’m excited to work with everyone.”

Svein Tuft – Langley, BC
Ben Perry – St Catherines, Ontario
Jordan Cheyne – Kelowna, BC
James Piccoli – Montreal, Quebec
Jay Lamoureux – Victoria, BC
Michael Foley – Milton, Ontario
Derek Gee – Ottawa, Ontario

Source: Cycling Canada
About Cycling Canada: Cycling Canada is the governing body for competitive cycling in Canada. Founded in 1882, Cycling Canada aims to create and sustain an effective system that develops talented Canadian cyclists to achieve Olympic, Paralympic, and World Championship medal performances. With the vision of being a leading competitive cycling nation by 2020 celebrating enhanced international success, increased national participation and world class event hosting, Cycling Canada manages the High Performance team, hosts national and international events and administers programs to promote and grow cycling across the country. Cycling Canada programs are made possible through the support of its valued corporate partners – Global Relay, Lexus Canada, Mattamy Homes, Louis Garneau, lululemon, 4iiii, Argon18 and Bear Mountain Resort – along with the Government of Canada, Own The Podium, the Canadian Olympic Committee and the Canadian Paralympic Committee.