Back To News

Team Canada Rosters Revealed for Saguenay & Beauce

Ottawa, ON (June 12, 2019) – Cycling Canada has announced the teams that will race in Canadian colours over the next two weeks at the internationally sanctioned men’s stage races Grand Prix Cycliste de Saguenay (June 13-16) and Tour de Beauce (June 19-23). These UCI 2.2 level events are the only men’s internationally sanctioned stage races in Canada, and offer the opportunity to collect valuable ranking points for Canada.

For both events, Team Canada will include a core roster of Derek Gee, Adam Jamieson and Adam Roberge. In Saguenay, they will be joined by Chris Ernst, Jay Lamoureux and Pier-Andre Cote. Jack Burke was also named to the team but had to withdraw due to injury. In Beauce, Gee, Jamieson and Roberge will be joined by defending champion James Piccoli, as well as Michael Foley, Charles-Etienne Chretien and Laurent Gervais.

“We have three goals for these projects,” said Kevin Field, Directeur Sportif for the projects. “First, build fitness for our men’s endurance squad during the Olympic campaign build. Second, provide Worlds qualification opportunities for key road U23 men who are not racing at these events with their trade teams. And, finally, support James in an effort to repeat Team Canada’s 2018 success at Beauce.”

Matt Jeffries, Cycling Canada’s Executive Director, added, “Cycling Canada’s ability to field teams at races like Saguenay and Beauce has been made possible in the past few seasons by increased collaboration with the FQSC [Fédération québecoise des sports cyclistes].  We’re grateful for this active support and it is reflective of the direction the organization is moving toward.”

“During the Tour de Beauce, Kevin [Field] will also be delivering practical instruction to developing coaches from Team BC. This is an extension of instructional work recently delivered at two advancement camps in Penticton (BC) and Milton (ON). Additional initiatives to work more closely with the provinces are currently being developed.”

Team Canada Roster (* Under-23)

Grand Prix Cycliste de Saguenay
Pier-Andre Cote * – St-Henri-de-Lévis, QC
Chris Ernst * – Kitchener, ON
Derek Gee * – Ottawa, ON
Adam Jamieson – Barrie, ON
Jay Lamoureux – Victoria, BC
Adam Roberge * – Montreal, QC
Jack Burke – Squamish, BC [Injured]

Tour de Beauce
Charles-Etienne Chretien * – Amos, QC
Michael Foley * – Milton, ON
Derek Gee * – Ottawa, ON
Laurent Gervais * – Montreal, QC
Adam Jamieson – Barrie, ON
James Piccoli – Montreal, QC
Adam Roberge * – Montreal, QC


Source: Cycling Canada 
About Cycling Canada

Cycling Canada is the governing body for competitive cycling in Canada. With the vision of becoming a leading competitive cycling nation, Cycling Canada manages the High Performance team, hosts national and international events and administers programs to promote and grow cycling across the country.