Back To News

BC Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2020 includes Cycling Star Alex Stieda

After switching sports from hockey to cycling in his teenage years, Coquitlam native Alex Stieda quickly ascended up the ranks of cycling. Stieda won several national titles in Road and Track cycling, competed for Team Canada in the 1982 Commonwealth Games and the 1984 Olympic Games, and became the first North American to lead the Tour de France in 1986. Today, the BC Sports Hall of Fame announced its 2020 Induction Class including Stieda and four other athletes, three builder-coaches, one team, one pioneer, one media member, and the W.A.C. Bennett Award winner.

Alex Stieda in the yellow jersey riding for team 7-Eleven.



The 2020 Induction Class includes:


  • Sonja Gaudet – Wheelchair Curling
  • Alex Stieda – Cycling
  • Jeff Francis – Baseball
  • Brent Johnson – Football
  • Kirk McLean – Ice Hockey


  • Harry White – Golf
  • Bill Mitchell – Wrestling
  • Valerie Johnson – Trampoline Gymnastics


1979-80 University of Victoria Viking’s Men’s Basketball
Team Members: Ted Anderson, Bill Chapman (manager), Reni Dolcetti, Jim Duddridge (assistant coach), Kelly Dukeshire, Bruce Hamilton, Chris Hebb, Craig Higgins, Ian Hyde-Lay, Gerald Kazanowski, Gregg Kazanowski, Tom Narbeshuber, Eli Pasquale, Ken Shields (head coach), Billy Turney-Loos, Norm Vickery (assistant coach), Mickey Welder.


Robin Bawa – Ice Hockey


Cleve Dheensaw

W.A.C. Bennett Award

Kathy Newman


“Our Class of 2020 is a terrific cross-section of the personalities and teams that make the history, heritage and culture of sport in British Columbia so notable and inspiring for the next generation of young people in BC,” said Tom Mayenknecht, Chair of the BC Sports Hall of Fame. “On behalf of our Board of Trustees and management team led by Chief Executive, Nicholas Cartmell, along with our Selection Committee and Foundation Board, we’re looking forward to celebrating their achievements provincially, nationally and globally at the BC Sports Hall of Fame Induction Gala on June 4, 2020.”

Cycling BC congratulates Alex Stieda on this great honour and applauds him for the inspiration he has given to the many athletes that strive to ride to their fullest potential in the sport of cycling.

Alex Stieda and Cycling BC’s Executive Director, Erin Waugh at the BC Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2020 Announcement


The new class of honoured members will be officially inducted and celebrated at the Induction Gala, Thursday, June 4th, 2020 at the Vancouver Convention Centre. A limited number of early bird tickets are available now on the BC Sports Hall of Fame website at, starting at $3,000 for a table of 10 and $300 for individual seats.


About the BC Sports Hall of Fame

The BC Sports Hall of Fame celebrates extraordinary achievement in BC sport history and inspires future generations to make their dreams come true. Each year, a diverse audience of over 35,000 visitors from around the globe are educated and enthralled by the collection of 27,000 artifacts and 100,000 archival documents representing 150-years of sporting accomplishments in British Columbia. Through the Hero in You Youth Education Programs, the BC Sports Hall of Fame reaches over 6,500 youth across the province, advancing its mission of building outstanding community legacies by honouring the past and inspiring the future.

For more information please visit, follow us on Instagram at @bcsportshall, follow us on Twitter at @bcsportshall and like us on Facebook at