Back To News

CCA Announces Pan Am Games Team

The Canadian Cycling Association announced today the names of the cyclists who will represent Canada at the Pan American Games in Guadalajara, Mexico, which open October 14th.  Tory Nyhaug, David Veilleux, Guillaume Boivin, Joelle Numainville and Max Plaxton are among the riders named to the team that willl contest for medals in BMX, mountain biking, track cycling and road cycling.

Many of Canada’s top pros will not be attending, as they take some down time before the preparations begin for next year’s Olympics.  The Pan Am Games, unlike the Pan Am Championships in various disciplines, do not offer much (if any) in the way of the UCI points that are important for nation rankings that determine Olympic quotas (for other sports  this is different, and the Pan Am Games are extremely important for Olympic qualification).  However, the Pan Ams are a good introduction for athletes to the stresses of competing at a large, multi-sport Games and, for every one of the Canadian cyclists going to Guadalajara, this will undoubtedly by a significant learning experience.

Nyhaug, coming off a solid season, is currently ranked fifth in the BMX World Rankings and could represent a solid opportunity for a medal at this event. At only 19 years old, Nyhaug is undoubtedly the top BMX rider in Canada. Hailing from Coquitlam, BC, the Canadian champion in BMX and Time Trials had his career-best performance this past weekend on the UCI BMX World Cup with a second place in the time trials in Chula Vista – his second podium of the season. Jim Brown of Airdrie, Alberta, completes the Canadian team in BMX.

Jean-Michel Lachance of Québec, QC, Jacob Schwingboth of Cloverdale, BC, Remi Pelletier Roy of Québec, QC and Rob Britton of Victoria, BC will be representing Canada in the men’s track cycling events, specifically the Team Pursuit.

Laura Brown of Vancouver, BC will be leading the women’s track team. She will be joined by Stephanie Roorda, also of Vancouver, BC, and Jasmine Glaesser of Coquitlam, BC. Glaesser will be racing for the first time as a Canadian on the international scene after receiving her Canadian citizenship. The three women will be racing the Women’s Team Pursuit, an event to be included for the first time in the Olympic programme at the 2012 Games. Both Laura Brown and Stephanie Roorda won a medal in the Team Pursuit event on the UCI World Cup tour this past season. The athletes who will represent Canada in both the Omnium races, men and women, will be selected later this week after a series of tests on the track in Los Angeles, California.

In mountain bike, Max Plaxton, who defeated seven-time champion Geoff Kabush for the Canadian title this summer, will be looking to extend his successful season in Guadalajara, accompanied by World Cup racer Derek Zandstra. Mikaela Kofman of Toronto will be gunning for gold, along with her teammate Amanda Sin of Collingwood, ON. Kofman is the current U23 Canadian Champion.

In road racing, sprinter Joëlle Numainville of Montreal, QC will be looking to finish on the podium, along with Denise Ramsden of Yellowknife, NWT. Numainville was Canada’s top finisher in the women’s road race at the recent world championships in Copenhagen, Denmark, finishing 12th. Ramsden is the current U23 Canadian champion in both the Road and the Time Trial.

In men’s racing, David Veilleux of Cap-Rouge, QC, will be ready to deliver a great performance for Canada in Guadalajara. Veilleux, who posted a Top-20 result at the World Championships in Denmark, is currently fine-tuning his skills in Europe with Team EuropCar in European races. Veilleux is the two-time Canadian Champion in the criterium race.

Guillaume Boivin of Longueil, QC will be looking for redemption after a disappointing performance at the World Championships. Boivin, bronze medallist at the 2010 World Championships, is making an impressive comeback after missing most of the season due to injury, posting great results with his Team SpiderTech squad. Rob Britton of Victoria, BC who rides for Bissell Pro-Cycling Team will be racing with Boivin and Veilleux, along with sprinter Remi Pelletier-Roy of Québec, QC.

Jim Brown (Airdrie, AB)
Tory Nyhaug (Coquitlam, BC) [Canadian Champion, BMX/Time Trials]

Mountain Bike – Women
Mikaela Kofman (Toronto, ON) [U23 Canadian Champion]
Amanda Sin (Collingwood, ON)

Mountain Bike – Men
Max Plaxton (Victoria, BC) [Canadian Champion]
Derek Zandstra (Trenton, ON)

Road Race – Women
Joelle Numainville (Montréal, QC)
Denise Ramsden (Yellowknife, NWT) [U23 Canadian Champion]
Laura Brown (Vancouver, BC)

Road Race – Men
Guillaume Boivin (Longueuil, QC)
Rob Britton (Victoria, BC)
Remi Pelletier-Roy (Québec, QC)
David Veilleux (Cap Rouge, QC)

Road Individual Time Trial – Women

Laura Brown (Vancouver, BC)
Denise Ramsden (Yellowknife, NWT) [Canadian Champion]

Road Individual Time Trial – Men

Rob Britton (Victoria, BC)
Rémi-Pelletier Roy (Québec, QC)

Track Cycling – Women

Stephanie Roorda (Vancouver, BC) [Team Pursuit]
Laura Brown (Vancouver, BC) [Team Pursuit]
Jasmine Glaesser (Coquitlam, BC) [Team Pursuit]

Track Cycling – Men

Rob Britton (Victoria, BC) [Team Pursuit]
Jean-Michel Lachance (Québec, QC) [Team Pursuit]
Remi Pelletier-Roy (Québec, QC) [Team Pursuit]
Jacob Schwingboth (Cloverdale, BC) [Team Pursuit]