Back To News

Track Nationals Recap

The 2015 Canadian Championships took place at the Mattamy National Cycling Centre in Milton, with track cyclists of U17, U19, Elite, Para and Master categories roaring on the boards of the new velodrome and showcasing their skills and talent with the hopes to win the coveted Canadian Champion jerseys.

The Championships kicked off on Wednesday with the Elite, Masters and Para riders, and Friday for the U17 and U19 riders.

Riley Pickrell, Maggie Coles-Lyster and Erin Attwell were not strangers to the podium in the U17 category for the Omnium, IP, TT and Sprint events.  Holly Simonson took 3rd in the U19 Women’s Kieran, John Willcox took the bronze in the U19 Men’s TT.

Men’s Elite riders Jacob Schwingboth took, yet again, the Madison Team’s National title with Quebec Rider Remi, Evan Carey took the bronze in the Sprint, and Mischa Partridge the bronze in the Kieran.

Women’s Elite rider, Meghan Grant, had a break out performance demolishing PB’s in almost every event and showing she’s a force to be reckoned with.

Para athlete Tristen Chenrove captured one silver and one bronze in his first Track Nationals appearance and 2nd ever Track race since getting into the sport only two months ago.  A big congratulations goes out to Tristen who also hit the National team qualification times!

BC athletes were found on almost every podium, coming away from the championships with 40% of the available medal haul.

Click here for a list of full results.

BC Athletes on the podium at Track Nationals:

Adam Attwell: U17 Men Team Sprint

Erin Attwell: U17 Women Team Sprint, U17 Women Sprint, U17 Women Omnium, U17 Women TT, U17 Women Team Pursuit

Angus Brown: U17 Men Team Sprint

Laura Brown: Women Team Pursuit, Women Omnium

Evan Carey: Men Team Sprint, Men Sprint

Aidan Caves: Men Team Pursuit, Men TT

Tristen Chernove: Para Men C Individual Pursuit, Para Men C TT

Maggie Coles-Lyster: U17 Women Team Sprint, U17 Women Sprint, U17 Women Omnium, U17 Women TT, U17 Women Team Pursuit

Dylan Davies: Madison Men

Max Duso: U19 Men Team Pursuit

Cameron Fitzmaurice: U19 Men Team Pursuit

Kinley Gibson: Women Omnium

Jasmin Glaesser: Women Team Pursuit, Individual Pursuit, Women Omnium

Jay Lamoureux: Men Team Pursuit, Individual Pursuit, Madison Men

Christopher MacLeod: U19 Team Sprint, U19 Team Pursuit

Rowan Morris: U19 Men Team Pursuit

Margaret Ovenell: U17 Women Team Pursuit

Mischa Partridge: Men Team Sprint, Men Kierin

Riley Pickrell: U17 Men Team Sprint, U17 Men Sprint, U17 Men Omnium, U17 Men TT

Stephanie Roorda: Women Team Pursuit, Individual Pursuit, Women Omnium

Jacob Schwingboth: Madison Men

Georgia Simmerling: Women Team Pursuit

Holly Simonson: U19 Women Keirin

Sarah Van Dam: U17 Women Team Sprint, U17 Women Team Pursuit

John Willcox: U19 Men Team Sprint, U19 Men Team Pursuit, U19 Men TT




Jackson in the gate
The Milton Velodrome
Tristen receiving 1 of 2 medals
Mischa receiving a bronze at his first Track Nationals
Holly getting ready for bike check
Madison podium
Holly taking the bronze in the U19 Kieran
Riley Pickrell taking the coveted Maple Leaf Jersey
Maggie Coles Lyster taking the Omnium title with fellow BC rider Erin Attwell with the bronze