Back To News

Masters Category Changes in CX

The Cyclo-cross Committee has adopted several changes for the 2011 season. This includes the introduction of an ability based Masters category. Masters will now be split into a Category 1/2 group and a Category 3/4 group. This should allow for better and more exciting races with fewer lapped riders. This also opens up the racing the the Elite mens field with fewer Masters to ride through.

Because of this change several Master men will be receiving an upgrade to category 2 on the CX level on their license. This was done based on 2010 results in the BC Cup series with anyone securing 7 or more points (14 points in Finals) in a single event receiving an upgrade. This group represents half of the overall field. Category 3 and 4 riders will move up on the basis of the following points structure.

1st place – 5th place: 8, 5, 4, 3, 2. Upgrade points will be awarded at races which use the above categories and have a Commissaire present.

  • A Cat 3 rider must upgrade once 15 points are received.
  • A Cat 4 rider must upgrade once 12 points are received.

BC Cup points will be awarded to Elite Men/ Women, Master Men 1/2 and Master Women.

Please note the 2011 race day schedule is as follows:

10:30am Cat 3/4 men, Citizen Men/Women and U17 (40 minutes)
11:15 am Kids Event
12:00 pm Master Men 3/4, Open and Master Women (45 minutes)
1:00 pm Elite Men, Master Men 1/2 (60 minutes/45 minutes)