Back To News

BC Cleans Up at Cycling Canada’s Annual Awards


The Cycling Canada Summit recently took place at Bear Mountain Resort in Victoria, BC in conjunction with Cycling Canada’s Annual Conference on October 21st, 2017.

In addition to a fundraising gala, meetings with Cycling Canada athletes, staff, sponsors and leaders from Canada’s provincial cycling bodies, a feature of the 2017 Cycling Canada Summit is the annual Cycling Canada Awards to honour events, coaches, athletes, officials, and organizations for their contributions to the sport.

Congratulations to this year’s award winners from across the country and especially to our representatives from BC who took home the largest haul of awards including,

International Commissaire of the Year 2017 – Wayne Pomario / BC

Twenty Years of Service and Dedication to the Sport of Cycling and Cycling Canada – Wayne Pomario / BC

National Commissaire of the Year 2017 – Marko Rosic / BC

Recognition Award for Coach of the Year:

• MTB / Velo – Joel Harwood / BC

• BMX – Adam Muys / BC

• Track – Barry Lyster / BC

Russ Copeland Award – Holden Jones (MTB); third place finish in the Junior Men’s XCO at the UCI Mountain Bike World Championships

President’s Trophy – Tristen Chernove (Para); World Champion in Para-Cycling Individual Pursuit, Kilometer Time Trial, Individual Time Trial and Road Race.