Back To News

BC Continues to Dominate Junior/U17/Para National Track Championships

Saturday, Day 2 of the 2017 Canadian Track Championships p/b Lexus for Junior, Under-17 and Para cyclists, saw titles awarded for men and women in four different events, for a total of 14 national titles.

Once again, British Columbia was the big winner, with seven titles, followed by five for Ontario.  In the Para competition, Alberta and Quebec were the winners.

Maggie Coles-Lyster (TaG Cycling) swept all three of the Junior Women titles, winning the Sprint, Elimination race and Points Race.  This brings Coles-Lyster’s total to five gold and one silver medal in the six Junior events contested so far.  She is closely followed by fellow B.C rider Riley Pickrell (Tripleshot Cycling) in the Under-17 Men, who won two titles – Points Race and Sprint – to bring his total to five gold medals.  A third B.C. rider, Sarah van Dam (Tripleshot Cycling), also won two titles in the Points Race and the Elimination Race, in the Under-17 Women category, bringing her total to four national titles.

Ontario’s Michael Foley (La Bicicletta Cycling) won two gold medals in the Junior Men’s category, in the Points Race and Elimination Race, bringing his total to three for the national championships.  In other Ontario results, Je’land Sydney (Kallisto-FVC p/b Peloton Contracting) added the Junior Men’s Sprint title, Madison Dempster (Midweek Cycling) took the Under-17 Women’s Sprint title – her second of the Championships – and Dylan Bibic (Midweek Cycling) won the Under-17 Men’s Elimination title.  Bibic, at only 13 years old, is one of the revelations of the Championships.

In Para competition, the Alberta tandem team of Carla Shibley and Erin Rutlan won the women’s competition, while the Quebec team of Mathieu Croteau Daigle and Benoit Lussier took the Men’s tandem title.

The Championships conclude on Sunday with national titles awarded in Team Pursuit, Team Sprint, Madison and Time Trials for Junior and Under-17 women and men, as well as Time Trials for the Para categories.

About Cycling Canada

Cycling Canada is the governing body for competitive cycling in Canada. Founded in 1882, Cycling Canada aims to create and sustain an effective system that develops talented Canadian cyclists to achieve Olympic, Paralympic, and World Championship medal performances. With the vision of being a leading competitive cycling nation by 2020 celebrating enhanced international success, increased national participation and world class event hosting, Cycling Canada manages the High Performance team, hosts national and international events and administers programs to promote and grow cycling across the country. Cycling Canada programs are made possible through the support of its valued corporate partners – Global Relay, Lexus Canada, Mattamy Homes, Louis Garneau and Bear Mountain Resort – along with the Government of Canada, Own The Podium, the Canadian Olympic Committee and the Canadian Paralympic Committee.

Maggie Coles-Lyster wins the Sprint, Elimination race and Points Race at Canadian U19 Track Championships. Photo © Rob Jones/Canadian Cyclist