Back To News

McCormack, Walsh Take Inaugural Canada Cup BMX Titles

Cycling Canada Cyclisme Press Release

(Abbotsford, BC – September 2, 2012) The final and last Canada Cup BMX 2012 race in Abbotsford, British Columbia saw Connor McCormack (Vernon, BC) and Amelia Walsh (Ayr, ON) claiming the top spot of the overall standings, winning the top honours of this inaugural season of the Canada Cup BMX.

McCormack riding for Team Cycling BC set the pace in the first two Canada Cup BMX races of the inaugural 2012 season in St-Augustin-de-Desmaures, QC, the birthplace of the Canada Cup BMX series, and then went to solidify his lead in the second series of events in St-Albert. Today was the icing on the cake for McCormack, as he finished second, behind four-time Canadian Champion Tory Nyhaug.

Manuel Cadle of Alberta took the second place in the overall standings, while New Zealand’s Nicholas Fox ranked in third place.

On the women’s front, Team Ontario’s Amelia Walsh took the series honours. Walsh also started the tour on the right foot, winning both races in Québec. She then went on to increase her lead of the overall tour in St-Albert, and rode today to the third place, enough to secure the titles.

Sarah Biron of Team Québec ranked second in the overall, followed by four-time Canadian Champion Sabrina Millman in third.

In the junior races, James Palmer of British Columbia raced to the overall title, while Alberta’s Elaine McAdam took the women’s crown.

This race today was the fifth of five races of the inaugural 2012 Canada Cup BMX series, organized by Cycling Canada in collaboration with its provincial association. The race also marked the end of the 2012 Canadian domestic calendar for BMX racing in Canada.

Also in Abbotsford, the UCI BMX SuperCross World Cup Finals will be hosted September 13-15 at the Abbotsford BMX Club, an event organized by CyclingBC.



1. Merle Van Benthem (NED)
2. Sabrina Millman (AB)
3. Amelia Walsh (ON)


Junior Men

1. James Palmer(BC)
2. Corey Walsh (ON)
3. Brandon Beauvolsk (QC)


Elite Men

1. Tory Nyhaug (BC)
2. Connor McCormack (BC)
3. Tatsumi Matsushita (JPN)



Elite Men

1. Connor McCormack (BC)
2. Manuel Cadle (AB)
3. Nicholas Fox (NZL)


Elite Women

1. Amelia Walsh (ON)
2. Sarah Biron (QC)
3. Sabrina Millman (AB)


Junior Men

1. James Palmer (BC)
2. Corey Walsh (ON)
3. Brandon Beauvolsk (QC)


Junior Women

1. Elaine McAdam (AB)
2. Amanda Landers (BC)
3. Marilou Breault (QC)


Junior Men Development (14-16)

1. Gaby Malenfant (QC)
2. Alexandre Roy (QC)
3. Pol-Emile Doucet (QC)


Junior Women Development (14-16)

1. Erin Kinnie (BC)
2. Mégane Bélanger (QC)
3. Daina Tuchscherer (BC)

Full results will be posted shortly at