Back To News

2018 Cycling BC Community Award Winners Announced

Cycling BC is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 Cycling BC Community Awards. The annual award winners are selected by the Cycling BC membership and recognize individuals and groups that have demonstrated exceptional achievement, performance, contribution, and dedication to the sport of cycling in British Columbia.

Elizabeth Gin of Surrey, BC and Carter Woods of Cumberland, BC are this year’s Female and Male Junior Sportsperson of the Year after a year of impressive achievements on the provincial, national and international racing stage. Carolyn Russell and Michael Cooper were the top picks for Masters Sportsperson of the Year while Holly Simonson and Alex Amiri were voted as the Elite Female and Male Sportsperson of the Year. Sherry Barnes was a double winner being selected as the Official of the Year and the Volunteer of the Year for her work in the bike racing community. Long-time coach, Houshang Amiri, from Mill Bay, BC, was selected as the Coach of the Year. Tripleshot Cycling repeats as the Club of the Year while Team Trek Red Truck was voted as the top team of 2018. Vancouver’s high-performance full-service shop, Bicicletta, with a new location in West Vancouver is acclaimed as this year’s Bike Shop of the Year. Glotman Simpson Cycling’s Cypress Challenge has raised over three million dollars since its inception in 2008 and the 11th annual ride won over the Cycling BC community as the 2018 Event of the Year.

The winners will be recognized and will receive their awards at the Cycling BC Season Wrap-up Party on Saturday, November 24, 2018 at the BC Sports Hall of Fame at BC Place in Vancouver.

“We are very fortunate to have such dedicated and passionate community members that inspire us all to do and be our very best,” said Erin Waugh, Executive Director of Cycling BC. “Our athletes, coaches, officials, clubs, teams, volunteers, event organizers, bike shops, and the community as a whole play a critical role in making BC such a wonderful place to ride bikes. All the winners deserve to be recognized for their achievements and contributions to cycling in BC. They are true leaders and are setting the path for others to follow.”

Cycling BC and its partners are excited to bring the cycling community together to celebrate the year in cycling and to recognize the winners of the 2018 Cycling BC Community Awards.

2018 Cycling BC Community Award Winners


Junior Female Sportsperson of the Year  – Elizabeth Gin

Junior Male Sportsperson of the Year – Carter Woods

Elite Female Sportsperson of the Year – Holly Simonson

Elite Male Sportsperson of the Year – Alex Amiri

Master Female Sportsperson of the Year – Carolyn Russell

Master Male Sportsperson of the Year – Michael Cooper

Volunteer of the Year – Sherry Barnes

Coach of the Year – Houshang Amiri

Official of the Year – Sherry Barnes

Team of the Year – Trek Red Truck Racing

Club of the Year – Tripleshot Cycling

Event of the Year – Cypress Challenge

Bike Shop of the Year – La Bicicletta


Congratulations to all the winners and a big thank you to everyone that took the time to vote.