Back To News

Nine National Titles for BC Riders at the 2023 Canadian U17/Junior/Para Track Championships

The Cycling BC team of riders who were selected to race at the Centre National de Cyclisme de Bromont for the 2023 Canadian U17, Junior, and Para Track Cycling Championships, March 31st to April 2nd, did not come home empty-handed.

Nine national titles were awarded to BC athletes including Cycling BC High Performance targeted athlete, Kimberly Chen (The Cycling Co.), who won two gold medals at the event—one in the Junior Women’s Sprint and another in the Junior Women Team Sprint on a composite team with Team Alberta.

Fellow Cycling BC High Performance Program athletes, Oscar Wong (Tripleshot) and Monty Rigby (DEVO) teamed up to take the championship win in the U17 Men’s Madison, adding to Wong’s individual gold medal win in the U17 Men’s Sprint.

Other BC riders who finished the weekend as national champions include Isla Rendle (Tripleshot) who won the U17 Women’s Sprint Final, Mel Pemble (Greater Victoria Velodrome Association) in the Para C3 Women’s Individual Pursuit and 500m Time Trial, and Lachlan Hotchkiss ( in the Para C4 Men’s Individual Pursuit and Kilo Time Trial.

Congratulations to all the athletes including BC’s Xavier Fell (DEVO), Amos Scott Bouris (Tripleshot), and Allison Lee-Meyer (Burnaby Velodrome Club) on their effort at the 2023 U17, Junior, and Para Track Cycling Championships.

A very special thank you to Cycling BC coach, Tim Sherstobitoff, and Cycling BC Athlete Development Manager, Tara Mowat, for their encouragement and support of the team throughout the weekend.

A list of full results can be found at

Kimberly Chen, 2023 National Champion | Jr Women's Sprint
Oscar Wong, 2023 National Champion | U17 Men's Sprint
Isla Rendle, 2023 National Champion | U17 Women's Sprint
Lachlan Hotchkiss, 2023 National Champion | Para C4 Men's Pursuit & Kilo TT
Mel Pemble, 2023 National Champion | Para C3 Women's Pursuit & 500m TT
Kimberly Chen, 2023 National Champion | Junior Women Team Sprint (Composite Team with Anabelle Thomas and Alexandra Volstad)
L to R: Sidney Swierenga, Kimberly Chen, Isla Rendle, Monty Rigby, Oscar Wong, Amos Scott Bouris, Xavier Fell