Back To News

Lan and Pemble to be celebrated at 56th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards

Sport BC has announced the finalist of the 56th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards and included in the list of finalists are two Cycling BC members, Emmy Lan (Comox, BC) for the Junior Female Athlete category and Mel Pemble (Victoria, BC) for the Athlete with a Disability category. The Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards recognizes the province’s best in amateur sport celebrating their achievements in the past 2023 season.

Emmy Lan had another monumental year on the UCI Mountain Bike World Cup circuit in 2023, winning all but two of seven races in the series and repeating as the overall U21 Enduro World Series Champion.  Mel Pemble repeated as the Women’s C3 Omnium champion at the 2023 UCI Track Cycling World Championships and won a silver medal in the C3 Women’s Scratch race and a bronze medal in the Time Trial. As if that wasn’t enough, she also won silver in the Time Trial and gold in the Individual Pursuit at the Parapan American Games in Santiago, Chile in 2023.

Cycling BC sends hearty congratulations and best wishes to Emmy Lan, Mel Pemble, and all the finalists of the 56th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards.

“The Athlete of the Year Awards is a true celebration of sport in our province. The finalists listed below will be honoured at the event and represent exceptional efforts and accomplishments in 2023. We congratulate our finalists and the organizations they represent”, shares Sport BC’s President and CEO, Rob Newman. “We look forward to celebrating as a sector together on Thursday, March 7, 2024 at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. The finalists represent 24 sports from communities all throughout BC demonstrating the collective strength of our province’s sport sector.”

Athlete with a Disability

Yuka Chokyu (Vancouver, BC) – Badminton

Bo Hedges (Wonowon, BC) – Wheelchair Basketball

Mel Pemble (Victoria, BC) – Para Cycling (Track)

Female Coach of the Year

Jane Gumley (Victoria, BC) – Rowing (UVIC)

Sarah Hunter (Surrey, BC) – Wheelchair Tennis

Keri Moffat (Richmond, BC) – Golf

Male Coach of the Year

Dylan Armstrong (Kamloops, BC) – Athletics

Victor Gantsevich (Richmond, BC) – Fencing

Graham Thomas (Calgary, AB) – Ice Hockey (UBC)

High School Female Athlete of the Year

Amelia Kristen (Vancouver, BC) – Athletics (Crofton House)

Keira Pemberton (Langley, BC) – Basketball (Walnut Grove)

Eva Ruse (North Vancouver, BC) – Basketball and Volleyball (Mulgrave)

High School Male Athlete of the Year

Mark Johnson (Vernon, BC) – Football (Vernon Secondary)

Yemane Mulugeta (Surrey, BC) – Athletics (L.A. Matheson)

Nash Semeniuk (Kelowna, BC) – Basketball and Volleyball (Kelowna Secondary)

Junior Female Athlete of the Year

Lauren Kim (Surrey, BC) – Golf

Emmy Lan (Comox, BC) – Cycling

Chloe Primerano (North Vancouver, BC) – Ice Hockey

Junior Male Athlete of the Year

Nicholas Bennett (Parksville, BC) – Para Swimming

Gavin Dodd (Kamloops, BC) – Gymnastics

Tyson Philpot (Delta, BC) – Football

Senior Female Athlete of the Year

Gabby Flynn (Burnaby, BC) – Gymnastics

Megan Kinna (Maple Ridge, BC) – Lacrosse

Camryn Rogers (Richmond, BC) – Athletics

Senior Male Athlete of the Year

Jack Crawford – Alpine Skiing

Dylan French (Richmond, BC) – Fencing

Ethan Katzberg (Nanaimo, BC) – Athletics

Post Secondary Athlete of the Year

Theo Benedet (North Vancouver, BC) – Football (UBC)

Rowan Hamilton (Chilliwack, BC) – Athletics (UBC)

Michael Henman (Victoria, BC) – Soccer (UNBC)

Team of the Year

BC Female U18 Hockey

TWU Spartans Men’s Volleyball

UVIC Vikes Women’s Field Hockey

Master Athlete of the Year

Betty Brussel (New Westminster, BC) – Swimming

Malindi Elmore (Kelowna, BC) – Athletics

Melanie McQuaid (Victoria, BC) – Triathlon

Official of the Year

Shanda Assmus (Vancouver, BC) – Rugby

Melanie Stewart (Port Coquitlam, BC) – Ringette

Trevor Walmsley (Vancouver, BC) – Karate


To purchase tickets for the awards celebration, go to