Back To News

The 2023 Agency Grand Prix BC Provincial Criterium Championship in Downtown Victoria

Photo credit: Jay Wallace


The 2023 Agency Grand Prix hosted this year’s BC Provincial Criterium Championship in front of the BC Legislature building in downtown Victoria under a bluebird sky, warm temperatures, and a gentle breeze that continued into the late afternoon, making the event a sight to behold from both the racers’ and spectators’ perspectives.

The event hosted various activities throughout the day including Cycling BC’s HopOn kids course for kids to challenge different features and stunts while learning bike skills from certified bike instructors. There was also a bike polo arena set up right outside of the final turn of the course and a Classic Bike Show in front of the Fairmont Empress Hotel where vintage bicycles were on display.

Once the bike racing got underway, many familiar faces could be seen on the start line including Alex Murison, last year’s Elite Men BC Crit Champion who looked focused on retaining his title as Provincial Champion. Canada’s 2023 Elite Women’s National Champion and Vancouver Island native, Holly Simonson (LA Sweat), turned heads as the hometown crowd was excited to see her race against the province’s elite riders. There were also some new faces amongst the group of cyclists who were looking forward to making a name for themselves amongst the top racers in the province. 

The Elite Men‘s race saw Alex Murison edge out Cameron Fitzmaurice by just one second to retain his title as the Provincial Champion. Sage Deluce (Lost Boys Book Club) crossed the finish line in third place to take the final podium spot. Holly Simonson (LA Sweat) put on a dominant performance in the Elite Women’s race as she showed spectators and fellow riders what it means to be a National Champion. She crossed the line in first place, followed by Isabella Bertold (InstaFund Pro Cycling) in 2nd place and Caileigh Filmer (Virginia’s Blue Ridge) in 3rd place—both put on strong performances.

This year’s Tour de Concord winner Campbell Parrish (Red Truck Racing p/b Mosaic Homes) continued his streak of good form as he finished atop the U23 Men’s category followed by teammate Caleb Ney (Red Truck Racing p/b Mosaic Homes) and Orien Massey who rounded out the top 3 in third place. The U23 Women were led by Mara Roldan who came out to represent the Yukon amongst a field full including Lily Ujfalusi (Primeau Velo) who finished first amongst the BC competitors to claim the Provincial Champion title. Elizabeth Gin (Primeau Velo) finished just behind her teammate in third place.

Here are the rest of the 2023 BC Provincial Criterium Champions:

Masters A Women:

  1. Laura Fluit

Masters B Women:

  1. Carolyn Russell
  2. Dominique Eustace (Cycle Therapy Cycling Club)
  3. Shannon Baerg

Masters C Women:

  1. Stephanie Brown (Red Kilo)
  2. Christine Neal (Element Race Team)

Master A Men:

  1. Clayton Hiltz (Victoria Wheelers)
  2. Ruslan Gadzhiiev (HewDog Racing)
  3. Jeffrey Werner

Master B Men:

  1. Eugene Hahn (Victoria Wheelers)
  2. Brian Green (Victoria Wheelers)
  3. Richard Martin (Victoria Wheelers)

Masters C Men:

  1. Maurice Worsfold (Twinenergy)
  2. Chris Worsfold (Twinenergy)
  3. Iain Hay (RDR)

Junior U17 Men:

  1. Monty Rigby (Team Devo)
  2. Oscar Wong (Tripleshot Cycling Club)
  3. Amos Scott Bouris (Tripleshot Cycling Club)

Junior U19 Men:

  1. Angesom Kelete (Team Devo)

View all results

The 2023 Criterium Championships brought thrilling races and camaraderie, celebrating top riders’ speed and strategy on the challenging criterium circuit. Thanks to all participants, supporters, event organizers, volunteers, and everyone who contributed, making this event an unforgettable success. 

For more upcoming races and events, visit the Cycling BC events calendar.