Back To News

2022 BC Provincial TT and RR Champions Named at Hatzic Valley

The 2022 BC Time Trial and Road Race Championships hosted by Local Ride Racing took place on the peaceful farm roads of Hatzic Valley in Mission, BC on the weekend of May 28th-29th. The race course was surrounded by lush evergreens, farm houses, and the occasional bovine included fast flat sections, descents, and a 4-kilometer hill climb with 140m of elevation gain. Many of the riders would be familiar with the challenges that lay ahead as this was the second consecutive year that the BC road race championships were held on the course. The provincial championships weekend also brought a mixed bag of weather as riders experienced both wet and dry conditions depending on the day and time of their category’s race.

Starting with the Provincial Time Trial Championships on the Saturday, Patrick Riddell (RedKilo) claimed the win in the Elite Men’s category with a strong lead over 2nd place John Vanderveen (Riverway Dental Racing), and Daniel Fraser-Maraun (Red Truck Racing pb Mosaic Homes) who finished in 3rd.

In the Elite Women’s group, Claire Cameron (Torelli Cayman Island Scimitar) edged out Helena Coney (Instafund La Prima) by just under two seconds for the win, and Holly Simonson (Red Truck Racing pb Mosaic Homes) finished in a close 3rd.

Top three winners on the awards podium with a Cycling BC backdrop
Elite Women’s BC Provincial Championships Time Trial Podium. Photo: Filip Funk Photography

Isaac Beall took the win in the Master Men’s A group ¬†while Chris McNeil (Motivo Desing Group) took the championship in Master Men’s B. Jennifer Ward (Tripleshot), Lynda McCue (McCue Engineering) and Heather Simonson (Tripleshot) are BC’s 2022 Master Women’s A, B, and C Time Trial Champions, respectively.

Ethan Pauly (Tag Cycling Race Team) narrowly took the win in U23 Men while Ngaire Barraclough (The Cyclery Racing) won convincingly in the U23 Women’s group. Sidney Swierenga (DEVO) claimed the Provincial TT Championship title among Junior girls while Matthew Ney (Victoria Wheelers) claimed it for the Junior boys.


The Road Race Provincial Championships on the following day, Sunday, May 29th, would see Claire Cameron back up on the top step of the podium as she would win her second provincial championship in as many days. Fiona Majendie (Red Truck Racing pb Mosaic Homes) and Jenna Nestman would go nose to nose for second place with Majendie taking it on the line. Red Truck would take a sweep of the Elite Men’s provincial championship podium with Alex Murison (Red Truck Racing pb Mosaic Homes) taking the top step and teammates Kyle Bucksosky claiming 2nd and Alex Fraser-Maraun in 3rd.

Cyclist celebrates at the finish line of a road race
Alex Murison celebrates a win at the 2022 BC Provincial Road Race Championships. Photo: Filip Funk Photography

The winners of the Master categories included Clayton Hiltz (Victoria Wheelers) in Master Men’s A, David Gerth (RedKilo) in Master Men’s B, Uli Mayer (United Velo) in Master Men’s C, and Horacio Chaves in Master Men’s D. Jennifer Ward would claim her second provincial championship of the weekend in the Women’s Master A group while Carolyn Russell took home the win in Master B and Stephanie Brown (Lotus) in Master C.

In the U23 Women’s race, Ngaire Barraclough (The Cyclery Racing) and Nadia Gontova (Red Truck Racing pb Mosaic Homes) duked it out all the way to the finish with Barraclough just hanging on by a hair to win the title with a throw of the bike in the final sprint to the end line. Lilly Ujfalusi (Red Truck Racining pb Mosaic Homes) finished in 3rd.¬† The U23 Men’s race also saw an exciting finish to the end as Evan Russell (Saris Rouvy Sauerland) took the win, followed closely by Braden Kersey (TaG Cycling Race Team) in second, and Erik Haaheim in third.

The Junior Boys saw Matthew Ney (Victoria Wheelers) take a big lead for the win over DEVO riders Manu Moore in 2nd and Marc Sato in 3rd. In the Junior Girls race, Sidney Swierenga (DEVO) took the championship over Heide Henry in 3nd and Kimberly Chen in 3rd.

Lachlan Hotchkiss was the winner of both the Time Trial and Road Race Provincial Championships in the Men’s Paracyclist category.


A huge congratulations to everyone who came out to the races, a hearty thank you to Local Ride Racing for hosting, and kudos to the volunteers and officials for making it all happen.

View All 2022 CYCLING BC PROVINCIAL CHAMPIONS (link coming soon!)

Junior Women's Podium Photo Credit: Filip Funk Photography
Junior Men's Podium Photo Credit: Filip Funk Photography
Photo Credit: Filip Funk Photography
Photo Credit: Filip Funk Photography
Photo Credit: Filip Funk Photography
Photo Credit: Filip Funk Photography