Back To News

Steve Smith King of the Mountain at Panorama; Micayla Gatto Wins Women’s Title

Canadian star Steve Smith wins Canadian Championships, Gatto repeats 2010 performance 

(Panorama, BC – July 14, 2013) Steve Smith of Nanaimo, BC (Devinci Global Racing), the king of downhill in Canada ranked third in the UCI World rankings and second on the UCI World Cup rankings, just added another title to his credentials; Canadian Mountain Bike Champion.

Under bright blue skies at the Panorama Mountain Resort, Canada’s top downhillers raced for Canadian titles today in all age categories, from Cadet to Masters.

Smith, who won two UCI World Championships medals for Canada and three Top 3 performances on the UCI World Cup tour in his career, took part at these Championships thanks to the UCI approval for the Canadian National Champion to wear a National Champion sleeve instead of the full National Champion jersey.

Smith, who posted the top qualifying time in Saturday’s seeding run, was the last to go in today’s race, and posted a time of 2:24.22 despite facing a challenging course.  Kyle Sangers (J&J Cycle/Kingston, ON) crossed the line in second place, while Sidney Slotegraaf (Tuf Rak Racing/Hamilton, ON) came third.

Elite Men Podium (L-R)
Kyle Sangers (J&J Cycles, Kingston ON)
Steve Smith (Devinci Global Racing, Nanaimo BC)
Sidney Slotegraaf (Tuf Rack Racing, Hamilton ON)
(c) Cycling BC

“I am happy to have won this race. There was a lot of pressure on me today as everybody expected me to win – it was kind of tough. I haven’t been to this race in six years, and now that the rule has changed to a sleeve, we were all stoked to come out and still be able to support our sponsors,” said Smith.

“I am pretty much going there to win everything. I really want to win. Last year, a second or third was an accomplishment. This year, it’s the win that I am going there to do. I am moving on from where I was in Italy and progress from there,” continued Smith. “I want to thank all my sponsors, and Cycling Canada for working to get the new sleeve rule approved. It’s been a good race here at Panorama, and a good time. It was such a good course and a good race.”

In the men’s junior race, all eyes were turned on youngster MarkWallace of Duncan, BC (Devinci Global Racing), who has been riding strong on UCI World Cup tour this year. Wallace did not disappoint, taking the title with a run of 2:34.06. Hugo Langevin (Équipe du Québec-Cycles Performance-Niquet/Sainte-Catherine, QC) improved from fourth in the qualifiers to finish second, while McKay Vezina (Newbury Park, CA) took third.

Junior Expert Men Podium (L-R)
Hugo Langevin (Equipe du Quebec- Cycles Performance-Niquiet, Ste-Catherine QC)
Mark Wallace (Devinci Global Racing, Duncan, BC)
McKay Vezina (Newbury Park, CA)
(c)Cycling BC

  “Glad to get the Canadian Championship Title. It’s always nice to show off the country we live in and its colours. The day went pretty well, my run was going good. I clipped a tree and took a bit of a wobble,” said Wallace, who was the 2012 Canada Cup Series Champion. “To me, this was just another race trying to do as well as I could. Definitely, when things are going good, you want to keep it like that. There are a lot of people to thank. My family, Devinci Global Racing and Steve [Smith] who have all helped me so much.”

The women’s Elite race was a battle between the top three qualifiers representing BC: Micayla Gatto (North Vancouver, BC) who was the 2010 Canadian Champion and two-time World Championships medallist, Miranda Miller (Garibaldi Highland, BC) who is a two-time Canadian Championships medallist, and Lauren Rosser (Squamish, BC) who was World Junior Champion in 2010.

Elite Women Podium (L-R)
Lauren Rosser (Squamish, BC)
Micayla Gatto (North Vancouver, BC)
Miranda Miller (Garibaldi Highlands, BC)

In practice after the seeding runs, defending Elite Women Canadian Champion Casey Brown (Team Dirt Norco, Revelstoke, BC) broke her collarbone, and did not start today’s race.

On race day, it’s Micayla Gatto who came out the fastest of the group, posting a time of 2:48.43, winning her third career title.

“It was a good day, a good competition. The track was really challenging. The crew made some good improvements from previous years,” said Gatto. “All the top Canadian girls were here today; it was a very tight race, all the girls killed it.

“[The resort trail crew] made some good changes to the course. They took out an uphill section, which was nice. They also added a bit more technical sections, which I am used to riding on the North Shore. I like the fast, technical courses.  Having support helps me achieve my best, with my boyfriend and family here really helped.”

Lauren Rosser climbed on the second step of the Elite Women’s podium in her first race of the season, while Miranda Miller took third place.

In the cadet categories, Magnus Manson (Dunbar Cycle/Sechelt, BC) won the Canadian Championship title with a very fast time of 2:41.82, followed by Nic Rodgers (Dunbar Cycle/Delta, BC) coming in second and Carter Paschinski (AFD Factory Racing/Red Deer, AB) in third.

U17 Expert Men Podium (L-R)
Nic Rodgers (Dunbar Cycles, Delta BC)
Magnus Manson (Dunbar Cycles, Sechelt BC)
Carter Paschinski (AFD Factory Racing, Red Deed AB)


Kirby Mclean (AFD Factory Racing/Victoria, BC) the sole competitor in the Junior Women’s category stood strong and proud atop the podium, taking the title of Junior Women Canadian Mountain Bike Champion.

D’Arcy O’Connor (Burnaby, BC) took top place in the Master 30-39 category, Ryan Kuhn (Rossland, BC) climbed to the top in the Masters 40-49 category and Derek Diedrickson was the fasted in the Masters 50+ category.

The 2013 Canadian Downhill Mountain Bike Championships is Canada’s top domestic downhill mountain bike event. The event annually attracts some of the country’s best downhill mountain bikers competing for the coverted Red and White Jersey. Organized by the Panorama Mountain Resort in Panorama, BC, the event is governed by the Cycling Canada, a member of the International Cycling Union (UCI).

The 2013 Canadian Downhill Mountain Bike Championships is made possible thanks to the close collaboration between the Cycling Canada, Cycling BC and the Panorama Mountain Resort.

Full results posted at :


1. Steve SMITH (Devinci Global Racing/Nanaimo, BC) 2:24.22
2. Kyle SANGERS (J&J Cycle/Kingston, ON) 2:28.50
3. Sidney SLOTEGRAAF (Tuf Rak Racing/Hamilton, ON) 2:29.81

1. Mark WALLACE (Devinci Global Racing/Duncan, BC) 2:34.06
2. Hugo LANGEVIN (Équipe du Québec-Cycles Performance-Niquet/Sainte-Catherine, QC) 2:34.41
3. McKay VEZINA (Newbury Park, CA) 2:35.34

1. Magnus MANSON (Dunbar Cycle/Sechelt, BC) 2:41.82
2. Nic RODGERS (Dunbar Cycle/Delta, BC) 2:52.06
3. Carter PASCHINSKI (AFD Factory Racing/Red Deer, AB) 3:00.53

1. Micayala GATTO (CyclingBC/North Vancouver, BC) 2:48.43
2. Lauren ROSSER (Squamish, BC) 2:51.92
3. Miranda MILLAR (CyclingBC/Garibaldi Highlands, BC) 2:53.42

1. Kirby MCLEAN (AFD Factory Racing/Victoria, BC) 3:34.11

1. D’Arcy O’CONNOR (Burnaby, BC) 3:01.76

1. Ryan KUHN (Cycleye/Rossland, BC) 2:55.16
2. Richard RATTE (Calgary, AB) 3:16.18
3. Colin YARROW (Cove Bikes International/Vancouver, BC) 3:26.26

1. Derek DIEDRICKSON (Comox, BC) 3:54:77
2. Richard WEISS (Calgary Cycle Race Team/Calgary, AB) 4:02.24
3. Larry CORSIATTO (CABC DH Division/Red Deer, AB) 4:08.77


Copyright © 2013 Cycling Canada Cyclisme, All rights reserved.
Distributed by Guy Napert-Frenette, Communications Officer for Cycling Canada Cyclisme.
Our mailing address is:

Cycling Canada Cyclisme
203-2197 Riverside Drive

Ottawa, ON K1H7X3