Back To News

National Titles Awarded at Canadian Track Championships

The opening day of competition at the Canadian Track Championships p/b Lexus on Saturday saw 13 titles awarded across Elite, Masters and Para categories at the Mattamy National Cycling Centre, in Milton, Ontario.

In the Elite category, the Team Sprint titles went to Olympians Kate O’Brien and Laura Brown for the women, and to the Quebec squad of Hugo Barrette, Joel Archambault and Patrice St Louis Pivin.

The Women’s Team Pursuit was won by the composite team of Steph Roorda, Laura Brown, Jamie Gilgen and Brenna Pauly, finishing only 0.125 seconds ahead of the composite squad of Kirsti Lay, Annie Foreman-Mackey, Kinley Gibson and Ariane Bonhomme.  The Men’s gold medal race was equally close, with the young squad of Adam Jamieson, Evan Burtnik, Derek Gee and Bayley Simpson finishing 0.193 seconds ahead of veterans Ed Veal and Ryan Roth, with Aidan Caves and Jay Lamoureux.

In the mixed category Para 1000 metre time trial, the women’s tandem of Carla Shibley took the title ahead of the Martin Croteau Daigle tandem, after category factors were applied.

National titles were also awarded across multiple categories for Masters Women and Men in the Time Trial and Points Race events.

Day Two of the Canadian Track Championships p/b Lexus, on Sunday, had 15 titles awarded across the Elite, Masters and Para categories.

The Sprint competition saw Rio Olympian Kate O’Brien of Calgary win her second national title in Elite women, after winning the Team Sprint on the opening day.  O’Brien was unmatched, qualifying first and winning every race on her way to the title.  In the final, O’Brien beat Natalie Cormier of Bromont, Quebec, in two straight rides.  Tegan Cochrane (Kelowna, BC) won the bronze.

Joel Archambault of Ste-Christine, Quebec, won the men’s title in similar fashion, also his second national title.  Archambault beat Michel Herszak of Edmonton for the title, however, since Herszak is not a Canadian citizen and ineligible for a championship medal, third placed Patrice St Louis Pivin of Windsor, Quebec, was awarded the silver medal.

In the Individual Pursuit competition, Kinley Gibson of Edmonton won the Elite women’s title, finishing nearly two seconds ahead of Annie Foreman-Mackey of Kingston, Ontario.  Stephanie Roorda of Vancouver won the bronze medal.

Ryan Roth of Guelph, Ontario, the national road time trial champion, dominated the Men’s Individual Pursuit, finishing nearly three seconds in front of Jay Lamoureux of Victoria, with Adam Jamieson of Barrie, Ontario, winning the bronze medal.

National titles were also awarded in Sprint, Scratch Race and Team Pursuit competitions in the Masters women and men categories.

For full results, click here.

Originally posted by Cycling Canada


Women's Team Pursuit. Photo by Dylan Davies