Back To News

Global Relay Bridge-the-Gap Announces 2016 Roster

The Global Relay Bridge-the Gap (BTG) program has announced their roster for 2016, expanding to support 24 athletes, including BC riders Jordan CheyneGillian Ellsay, Nigel Ellsay, Anika Todd, and Adam de Vos.

The Global Relay Bridge-the-Gap Fund addresses the gap in the development of up and coming Canadian cyclists (19 to 25), by providing access to the coaching, resources and equipment they need to reach their full potential. In addition, the board’s members play a key role in networking with US managers and coaches to secure spots on professional teams.

Bridge the Gap riders  showcased the strength of the BTG program with numerous strong results in 2015, including Adam de Vos’ 9th place finish in Worlds U23 road race; Annie Ewart‘s stage win at the Tour of the Gila; and Leah Kirchmann‘s two stage wins at the Tour of California, and 2016 contract with Liv-Plantur (her 2016 campaign already includes a fourth at Omloop het Nieuwsblad, a second at Omloop van het Hageland and a victory at Drentse Acht van Westerveld.)

Adam de Vos highlights the importance the BTG program has had on his success this past year:

The support I’ve received from BTG over the past years has been a key resource to me while making the steps towards a pro career. Receiving mentorship from board members has been invaluable for everything from race insight to personal connections. Financially, the fund has allowed me to attend multiple national team projects, most recently the Pan Am Championships and World Championships in 2015 as well as the Montreal and Quebec World Tour races. Without these opportunities, my success at the Worlds would not have been possible. I’m grateful and excited to have been one of the original supported athletes and to now be transitioning into a new graduate role as part of the Bridge the Gap fund.

“We’re pleased to welcome our new riders from across Canada to the Bridge-the-Gap Program,” said Global Relay CEO Warren Roy. “It’s been a thrill to help so many up-and-coming Canadian cyclists work towards their dreams and achieve their goals of riding professionally because, as a company and as one of the biggest supporters of competitive cycling in Canada, we’re committed to helping people reach their potential. We wish all our riders the best of luck in 2016.”



RIDER                                      HOMETOWN                          TEAM


Lex Albrecht                                    Montreal, QC                    BePink Pro Cycling

Alizee Brien                                    Val-David, QC                    Team TIBCO-SVB

Jack Burke                                      Toronto, ON                       H&R BLOCK Pro Cycling

Alex Cataford                                 Kanata, ON                         Silber Pro Cycling

Jordan Cheyne                         Kelowna BC                   Jelly Belly Pro Cycling

Alec Cowan                                     Calgary, AB                        Canada NextGen

Adam de Vos                             Victoria, BC                   H&R BLOCK Pro Cycling

Elliot Doyle                                     Alma, QC                            Silber Pro Cycling

Gillian Ellsay                            Courtenay, BC               Trek-Red Truck/ Canada NextGen 

Nigel Ellsay                               Courtenay, BC               Silber Pro Cycling

Annie Foreman-Mackey              Kingston, ON                     Stevens Racing P/B The Cyclery

Derek Gee                                       Osgoode, ON                      Team Giant Langley/SmartSavvy

Kinley Gibson                                Edmonton, AB                   Trek-Red Truck/ Canada NextGen

Emeliah Harvie                              Banff, AB                           Stevens Racing P/B The Cyclery

Alison Jackson                               Vermilion, AB                   TWENTY16 Pro Cycling

Emile Jean                                      Trois-Rivières, QC           Silber Pro Cycling

Katherine Maine                            Ottawa, ON                       Rally Pro Cycling

Nicolas Masbourain                      Montreal, QC                    Silber Pro Cycling

Cath Ouellette                                 Saint-Lambert, QC         Rally Pro Cycling

Gabrielle Pilote Fortin                   Neuville, QC                    Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team

Sara Poidevin                                  Canmore, AB                    Rally Pro Cycling

Travis Samuel                                  Oshawa, ON                     H&R Block Pro Cycling

Anika Todd                                 Victoria, BC                  Independent

Ed Walsh                                          Halifax, NS                        Canada NextGen


About Bridge the Gap:

The Bridge-the-Gap fund was a created by Vancouver tech leader Global Relay in November 2012 with the support of current Canadian cycling professionals Svein Tuft (Orica GreenEDGE), Will Routley (Rally Pro Cycling), Ryan Anderson (Direct Energie), and former pros Erinne Willock and Andrew Pinfold, who serve as the BTG’s board.

Adam de Vos at 2015 Road World Championships. Photo © Rob Jones/Canadian Cyclist.
Nigel Ellsay at 2015 Road World Championships. Photo © Rob Jones/Canadian Cyclist.
Gillian Ellsay at 2015 Road World Championships. Photo © Rob Jones/Canadian Cyclist.
Anika Todd. Photo © Oran Kelly.
Jordan Cheyne, Jelly Belly Pro Cycling