Back To News

Orange Jersey & Special Honour for Pickrell at 50th Tour de l’Abitibi

The organizers of le Tour cycliste de l’Abitibi rewarded the best cyclists of the 50th edition during the Hécla Québec Award Ceremony held Sunday, July 22 at Théâtre Télébec.

In addition to the winners of the four jerseys – Riley Sheehan (United States – brown jersey, overall standings), Riley Pickrell (Canada – orange jersey, points classification), Conor Martin (Canada – polka dot jersey, best climber) and Michael Garrison (United States – blue jersey, best first year junior), the organizers honored seven individuals and two teams.

Here is the list of winners :

Team Challenge: United States

Best Revelation: Antonin Corvaisier, Team France

Most Gentleman rider: Sam Cook, Team Desjardins Ford

Most courageous rider: Caleb Bender, Team Nova Scotia

Best Team Spirit: Team Japan

Best Coach: Barney King, Team United States

Best Mechanic: Mark Bush, Team Vantaggio

Most combative rider: Riley Pickrell, Canada

Best Abitibi-born rider: Simon Dubuc, Team Québec


Sixteen year-old Pickrell from Victoria, BC easily won the orange jersey for the overall points standings. He completed the week with 158 points, 24 more than the next closest competitor, Taisei Hino of Japan. Pickrell also earned three stage wins in this 50th edition of the Tour de L’Abitibi.


SOURCE : Le Tour cycliste de l’Abitibi Inc.