Back To News

2014 BC Track Championships

Photo by Tim Sherstobitoff/DEVO

British Columbia’s top track racers invaded the Burnaby Velodrome for the 2014 BC Track Championships, held from Sept. 12 to 14.  With Championship jerseys up for grabs in both the endurance and sprint omniums, the weekend provided some amazing action for riders and spectators alike.

In the highly contested Elite Men’s Endurance Omnium, it came down to Jacob Schwingboth (Accent Inns),  and Russ Hayes (pb Scotiabank), who was able to hold off hard charging Kyle Buckosky for the win.  Evan Carey (VIPYRS) took the Elite Men’s Sprint Omnium by winning all events over track veteran Keith Bruneau.

Photo by Tim Sherstobitoff/DEVO

The Elite Women’s category saw Sarah Coney (Trek Red Truck Racing) take the win over Brenna Pauly (Triple Shot).  In the Women’s Sprint Omnium it was Victoria’s Allie Guenther who took the BC Championship title.

The junior categories saw some of the closest endurance and sprint omniums of the weekend.  Alexander Amiri (Action Motorcycles) narrowly edged out Jackson Pickell (Local Ride Racing) by 3 points to take the Junior Men’s Endurance Omnium Victory.  In the sprint omnium it was Trevor Stothard (Trek Red Truck Racing) who took the BC title.

Photo by Tim Sherstobitoff/DEVO

Clara Mackenzie (Local Ride Racing) and teammate Maggie Coles-Lyster battled each other hard in the Junior Women’s Endurance Omnium to end in a tie in points.  Mackenzie took the tie-breaker by winning the points race and secured the overall win.  Coles-Lyster also competed in the Junior Girl’s Sprint Tourney and was in tough against Rachel Carey (VIPYRES).  It took a victory in the final Keirin for Coles-Lyster to secure the BC Championship title.


It was great to see a large turnout of youth and master athletes attend the BC Championships. Full results can be seen here.

Cycling BC would like to thank the Burnaby Velodrome and all the volunteers and sponsors for putting on a great 2014 BC Track Championships.  We look forward to returning to Victoria for 2015.