Back To News

Canada Brings 22 Athletes to Milton Track Cycling World Cup

Cycling Canada is pleased to announce the team that will represent Canada at Round 2 of the Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Cup, to take place at the Mattamy National Cycling Centre in Milton, Ontario from October 26 – 28. This will be Milton’s second year hosting the event, and Cycling Canada is fielding a team of 13 athletes on Team Canada, as well as nine development riders on the UCI trade team, ‘Pedal 2 the Medal’.

“We’re proud to have the privilege of welcoming the world’s best track cyclists back to Canada for the second edition of the Milton World Cup,” said Kris Westwood, Head of Performance Operations at Cycling Canada. “With Olympic qualification underway, the level of competition at this year’s event is going to be even better than last year, and it is very important for our national team, as this will be the first chance for us to truly gauge our athletes’ progression against many of the athletes and teams we will be facing in Tokyo in 2020.”

Team Canada’s sprint squad of three riders is headed by Pan American champion Hugo Barrette, who will compete in the Men’s Sprint and Keirin events. On the women’s side, Commonwealth Games athletes Lauriane Genest and Amelia Walsh will both compete in the Sprint and Team Sprint, with Genest also racing in the Keirin. Joel Archambault will compete in the Sprint and Keirin on the PTM squad.

Team Canada’s women’s endurance squad consists of five athletes, led by Rio Olympic bronze medalist Allison Beveridge. Beveridge will compete in the Omnium, Madison and Scratch events, and is an alternate for the Team Pursuit. Steph Roorda will race in the Madison and the Team Pursuit, accompanied by Ariane Bonhomme, Annie Foreman-Mackey and Kinley Gibson. The PTM women’s Team Pursuit squad will consist of Miriam Brouwer, Devaney Collier, Laurie Jussaume and Katherine Maine.

“The Milton World Cup will be the second race of our Olympic Qualification period,” said Roorda. “Speaking for the team, we are all pretty excited to get things started. The Milton World Cup is an important race to start our season off with. While the main focus for us is later in the season at the World Championships, it is really important to us to have a good performance at home.  When we can put it together well in front of the home crowd, that’s the best feeling in the world.”

The men’s endurance team for Team Canada will consist of Aidan Caves, Michael Foley, Adam Jamieson and Jay Lamoureux, plus alternate Derek Gee, who will represent Canada at the first round of the World Cup in France, on October 19-21. All riders will compete in the Team Pursuit, with Foley also racing in the Omnium. The PTM team will consist of Evan Burtnik, Vincent De Haitre, Chris Ernst and Tristan Guillemette.

Team Canada 

Lauriane Genest – Levis, QC [Sprint, Keirin, Team Sprint]
Amelia Walsh – Ayr, ON [Sprint, Team Sprint]
Hugo Barrette – Iles-de-la-Madeleine, QC [Sprint, Keirin]

Endurance Women
Allison Beveridge – Calgary, AB [Omnium, Madison, Scratch, Team Pursuit (alternate)]
Ariane Bonhomme – Gatineau, QC [Team Pursuit]
Annie Foreman-Mackey – Kingston, ON [Team Pursuit]
Kinley Gibson – Edmonton, AB [Team Pursuit]
Steph Roorda – Vancouver, BC [Madison, Team Pursuit, Omnium (alternate)]

Endurance Men
Aidan Caves – Vancouver, BC [Team Pursuit]
Michael Foley – Milton, ON [Omnium, Team Pursuit]
Derek Gee – Ottawa, ON [Team Pursuit (alternate)]
Adam Jamieson – Barrie, ON [Team Pursuit]
Jay Lamoureux – Victoria, BC [Team Pursuit]

PTM (Pedal 2 the Medal)

Joel Archambault – Ste-Christine, QC [Sprint, Keirin]

Endurance Women
Miriam Brouwer – Burlington, ON [Team Pursuit]
Devaney Collier – Edmonton, AB [Team Pursuit, Scratch (alternate)]
Laurie Jussaume – Contrecoeur, QC [Team Pursuit]
Katherine Maine – Ottawa, ON [Team Pursuit]

Endurance Men
Evan Burtnik – Edmonton, AB [Team Pursuit, Scratch]
Vincent De Haitre – Cumberland, ON [Team Pursuit]
Chris Ernst – Kitchener, ON [Team Pursuit]
Tristan Guillemette – Trois-Rivieres, QC [Team Pursuit]

Source: Cycling Canada

About Cycling Canada
Cycling Canada is the governing body for competitive cycling in Canada. With the vision of becoming a leading competitive cycling nation, Cycling Canada manages the High Performance team, hosts national and international events and administers programs to promote and grow cycling across the country. Cycling Canada programs are made possible through the support of its valued corporate partners – Global Relay, Lexus Canada, Mattamy Homes, Louis Garneau, lululemon, 4iiii, Argon18 and Bear Mountain Resort – along with the Government of Canada, Own The Podium, the Canadian Olympic Committee and the Canadian Paralympic Committee.