Back To News

Cycling BC Team Project | 2023 Canadian Road Championships (Elite/JR/Para)

Cycling BC Team from L to R: Kimberly Chen, Elizabeth Krishanova, Sidney Swierenga, Monty Rigby, Coach Tim Sherstobitoff


Ottawa, ON (June 27, 2023) – Canada’s brightest junior, elite and para talents converged in Edmonton, AB, from June 23-26 for their chance at one of 30 coveted titles at the 2023 Canadian Road Championships.

Cycling BC’s squad of youthful U17 and Junior riders were set to take on the challenge of competing in a national championship and continue to develop their skills, tactics, and strategy at the highest level of competition at their level.  Representing Cycling BC were U17 riders Sidney Swierenga (DEVO) and Monty Rigby (DEVO) from Vancouver who competed as Juniors along with Kimberly Chen (The Cycling Co. Dirt Squad) and Elizabeth Krishanova from Coquitlam.

Individual Time Trials

The competition kicked off with the individual time trials on June 23, where BC rider Jessica Law from Vancouver took the championship title in the women’s Para C1-5 category; Paralympian Michael Sametz (Team Alberta) won the men’s C1-5 category; and Paralympian Shelley Gautier (Team Ontario) in the women’s T1-2 category; and Martin Duif in the women and men’s H1-2 category.

Lowell Taylor (Team Alberta), competing in the men’s B category, added another national title to his 2023 collection after winning the first-ever para Canadian Esports Champion title in February. Carla Shibley (Team Alberta) returned to take the crown in the women’s B category for a second year, and Équipe du Quebec’s Louis Albert Corriveau Jolin finished 1st in the Men’s T1-2 just ahead of BC’s Nathan Clement from Vancouver. Paralympian Charles Moreau improved on a second-place finish in 2022 to win the Women & Men H3-5 race.

The Junior women’s ITT title would go to 2023 Canadian Track Champion Nora Linton (AG Insurance-Soudal Quick-Step U19 Team) claim the women’s time trial title but BC’s Sidney Swierenga put out a strong performance and nearly made the podium with a 4th place finish.  In the Junior men’s race, Cycling BC’s Monty Rigby finished in the Top 25 and the championship title would be claimed by Cycling BC targeted athlete Matthew Ney (Red Truck Racing P/B Mosaic Homes). The U23 men’s championship went to Michael Leonard (INEOS Grenadiers), while the women’s top spot went to Ngaire Barraclough for the second year running. The Elite podium saw defending champions Paula Findlay and Derek Gee (Israel – Premier Tech), a month off of his impressive performance at the Giro d’Italia, successfully maintain their titles.

“This is really important to me, I put all my focus on this,” said Olympic triathlete Findlay of the win in front of her hometown crown. “Last year, I didn’t know what to expect and this year, I think I was a little more prepared with training for it specifically… I just race in triathlons so kind of learning still but it was really hard but also fun. I love this kind of racing where I can just go hard, cross the line and be done and not do a run so it was a good, hard day.”

Road Races

BC’s Para athletes podiumed three times in the road race including Surrey’s Lachlan Hotchkiss ( with a silver in the Men’s C4, Brent Worrall from Penticton with a bronze in the Men’s H3 handcycle, and Nathan Clement with gold in the men’s T1 trike race. Joey Desjardins of Ontario won the men’s MH3-5 category, commented, “Winning the national title in the road race reinforces all the hard work I put in over the nine years since my first attendance at nationals. It’s a good feeling to trust in one’s ability and to take it home!”

Ethan Powell (Team Ontario) led the way for Junior men, building off of his winning experience at the 2023 Canadian Track Championships. Cycling BC’s Monty Rigby finished in 22nd and Matthew Ney was the top Junior from BC in 8th. Alexandra Volstad (Team Alberta), who also has Canadian Track Championships to her name from 2022, took home top honours for the women riding alongside teammates from her province: “The team was huge, they’re my best friends and I love racing with them locally so it feels pretty special to race with them at the national level.” Cycling BC’s Sidney Swierenga and Kimberly Chen came in 8th and 26th respectively.

Former Cycling BC High Performance athlete, Sarah Van Dam (DNA Pro Cycling Team) from Victoria, BC, finished first in the women’s U23; her counterpart on the men’s side was Philippe Jacob (Team Ecoflo Chronos).

Sarah Van Dam (DNA Pro Cycling Team) U23 Women’s National Road Race Champion 2023. Photo credit: Rob Jones/


In the Elite categories, it was Nickolas Zukowsky (Q36.5 Pro Cycling) who emerged victorious while former Cycling BC targeted athlete, Alison Jackson (EF Education – TIBCO – SVB), winner of Paris-Roubaix Femmes earlier this year, captured the maple leaf jersey for the women. She said, “We don’t have so many races in my home province and to have all my family here, it’s definitely a special feeling. I’m just really happy to get to represent Canada with this jersey all year. When you can put on a great show and a great bike race for your friends, family and fans, that’s what it’s all about.”


Four days of hard racing for Juniors and Elites concluded on June 26th with the criterium race. Linton asserted her dominance in the Junior women’s category, while the men’s title went to 2023 Canadian Esports Champion, Patrick Harris (Ignite Junior Cycling). Kimberly Chen had the best result for Cycling BC with a 9th-place finish. Monty Rigby finished 17th among Junior Men.


Elite athletes closed the event, with former Cycling BC High Performance program athlete, Holly Simonson (LA Sweat), and Alec Cowan (Legion of LA) taking home the final two gold medals in the women’s and men’s races, respectively. Both riders had made it onto the 2022 Criterium podium, but 2023 saw them earn the top step for the first time.

The full list of results can be found here. Congratulations to all the athletes and special thanks to Cycling BC’s Athlete Development Manager, Tara Mowat, and Coach Tim Sherstobitoff for supporting the team on this project.

Holly Simonson Elite Women 2023 National Criterium Champion. Photo credit: Rob Jones/
Next up on the Canadian Championships calendar is the Canadian Road Championships for Masters and the Canadian BMX Championships, which will both be held from June 29-July 2 in Quebec. The full calendar of national events can be found on the Cycling Canada website.